Micky's Sticky Licky Sweet n Zesty BBQ Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2002
I was pretty unimpressed. Not at all zesty, even though I added Franks Red Hot and some Hickory Seasoning (Liquid Smoke). Tasted a lot like my moms homemade sloppy joes. Bland enough that kids might like, except its chunky, which turns mine right off. I won't use this recipe again. Sorry Micky!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
I was looking for an easy sweet sauce to put on some fried chicken wings. Wasn't bad but, alot like ketchup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
My husband used this recipe for a church gathering we had on 8-19-07 ...and everyone really liked it...he let his ribs smoke for 6 hours using this sauce and turned out great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Delicioys and unique
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Edwin H. Kluge Jr.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This sauce is pretty good but I made a few changes. I used brown sugar instead of white, balsamic vinegar instead of white, and 1/2 tsp of celery seed (instead of celery pc's) and 1 tsp of onion powder instead of onion. It just made the sauce smoother. I also used 1/2 cup of ketchup and 1/2 cup of hp sauce. My husband loves it and I keep a jar in the fridge now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernadette

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Strathroy, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
This BBQ sauce is a very nice and tangy topping for almost anything. I made it for my family with pork ribs and they loved it so much that they wanted to eat it out of the pan! I do however add a little extra lemon and some hamburger spices. It helps to make the flavor a little more bold and give it extra zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
i twiked a little and it was great ( the wife love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big John
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Excellent "base" sauce, and as the author says--you can zip it up your way! I followed the recipe to a "T" and found a light, tangy sauce for almost anything. YOU MUST LIKE A SLIGHTLY TEXTURED SAUCE TO ENJOY THIS ONE---it is slightly chunky. Good idea to really saute' the veggies well before adding the other ingredients. I did add another tablespoon brown sugar along with a dash or two of hot sauce to zip it up a bit. Wonderful and easily earns a HIGH 5!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I made this on a whim and I am soooo glad I did! I took the advice of some other reviews and used Brown Sugar instead of White and I used Balsamic vinegar instead of white. I used a teaspoon of Spicy Brown Mustard instead of dry mustard too. I also added a half cup of reagular bbq sauce from my fridge because I didn't want the ending sauce to have a too much of a ketchup taste. When you mix the ingredients together the sauce looks - well - scary! I asked myself, "do I really want to try this?" But I trusted Mickey (haha) and went with it! I have become known for my BBQ now thanks to this sauce!! I slow cook 6 to 8 chicken breasts on LOW for 6 hours. Then I shred the chicken (pulling the meat apart a little at a time with 2 forks) and then I put the shredded meat back in the sauce and slow cook overnight on LOW. Allowing the meat to soak up the sauce makes this BBQ GREAT!!! I always make it for when we have parties and guests-- it is a crowd pleaser FOR SURE! Thanks Mickey- whoever you are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States