Michelle's Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was the 1st "from scratch" recipe I tried for sugar cookies. They came out just the way I'd hoped they would. A little crunchy around the rims, but soft and light in the middle after cooling & even next day. YUM. This is a keeper recipe! Thank you for sharing. Most simple recipe and quite quick too. I only added 1 1/4 cups of sugar as I knew I'd like the cookies to be less sweet cause there would be icing and lots of other kid friendly decorations. If you follow instructions to a T, they do come out very soft, not all crumbly and hard. I baked cookies for about 6 minutes, and turned the sheet pan around so it was evenly cooked. Just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I thought these cookies were not sweet enough and left a bad aftertaste after eating. I didn't have the cream of tartar so I used the extra baking soda as others suggested. I had to use extra icing to get them to taste sweet. I will not be making these again. If you like your sugar cookie not sweet, but soft then these are for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These cookies are delicious! Definitely the softest sugar cookie I have ever had...used them as cutouts and brushed with milk and added sprinkles for a delicious Christmas treat! Thanks for the recipe...I'll use it for years to come :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
This dough produced cookies that tasted amazing but failed to be a viable option for cut-out cookies as the dough was FAR too sticky to do anything with...even AFTER chilling overnight!! My young daughters were so disappointed not to make cut-outs this year. I will be looking for another recipe that will produce the soft cut-out cookies that we desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
So dissapointed. I could not roll it out and it didn't smell like sugar cookie dough I'm used to. It turned soft really fast that it started getting very sticky when rolling. I had to re-chill it then cut but that did not work either. I couldn't get 1 single cut out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These are amazing. Like others I didn't have cream of tarter so I substituted. And baking them @ 375 for 7 min was perfect. I definatly will be using this over and over. Even my husband who is very picky when it comes to cookies (they have to be soft) loves these. Even now 6 days later after i made my first batch the cookies are still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Worst cut-out recipe I have ever tried. I followed the directions to a T and even added additional flour when it never formed into a dough. I figured maybe after a night in the fridge that's what it was supposed to do? NO. I took it out the next morning and couldn't even use it. So disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These cookies were not only easy to make, they taste amazing!!! I love soft, chewy cookies and these are amazing. I used the spritz cookie press and they came out great in that. Would def. recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I used real butter and no problems with the dough sticking. Also, I used a tip from a previous rater--use poweder sugar when rolling out the dough. The cookies were GREAT! One of the best sugar cookie recipes I've tried so far. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I am surprised by all of the rave reviews of this recipe. First, I agree with other reviewers that the dough is very sticky and difficult to work with unless you use a lot of flour while rolling which makes the cookies dry and taste like flour. I should have tried rolling it between parchment paper as other reviewers suggested so that is my fault. The texture of the finished product is good but the cookies expand quite a bit and didn't work with some of my more intricate cookie cutters. Lastly, I agree with other reviewers that the cookies have a strange aftertaste due to the cream of tartar. I had a cup of tea after eating two cookies and I can still taste the sour/bitter aftertaste of the cream of tartar. I assume the amount of cream of tartar is what helps give the cookies more volume so one would have to experiment with using less. I did like the fact that the cookies were not too sweet which is good if you are going to use icing. I will have to experiment with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States