Michelle's Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
These are by far the best cut out sugar cookies I have ever made. The only change I made was using the 4 teaspoons of baking powder in place of the cream of tartar and baking soda. I let the dough set Fridge overnight. I too rolled the cookies between 2 sheets of parchment paper (you could use wax paper) and only had to use a dusting of powder on the paper and on the dough and had no trouble at all with the cut outs sticking or the dough being too sticky(?). Baked them for 7 minutes.....no longer. They were perfect. This is my new sugar cookie recipe that I am sure I will use forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
461 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Wausau, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This recipe is perfect. I only did two things different. I did not have cream of tartar so I did not use that, but I did use baking powder as someone suggested. I also only let them chill for an hour instead of all night (only because the kids were anxious to make them.) We used an icing off this site and together it worked perfect. This was definately a wonderful sugar cookie!! (Also, it was exactly 8 minutes to make them just right!! ) I also used real butter instead of margarine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Perfect Christmas cutouts! You can use 4 teaspoons of baking powder instead of the baking soda and cream of tarter. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Very nice sugar cookies! I used butter instead of margarine and didn't chill them at all. Had no trouble rolling them out and cutting them with cookie cutters, and they baked up beautifully. I've never made successful sugar cookies before, but these were perfect. I rolled the cookies fairly thin since I knew they would puff up a bit, so I ended up getting more than 6 dozen heart shaped cookies. Very popular at work and with my family. Thanks for this one!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happychef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockwell, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Concord, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2002
a friend of mine made the best sugar cookies over xmas, they were soft and chewy throughout even when slightly burnt around the edges. inspired, i chose a few recipes off this website hoping to recreate that. unfortunately, my first attempt with "Michelle's Soft Sugar Cookies" was not even close. the dough smelled and tasted great, but the final cookies were 75% hard and 25% soft in the center, only when they were still warm. by next morning they were completely hard! :( they also have a thick texture and are not what i consider light. i may attempt this recipe again, maybe adding a little milk and baking for shorter time. i'll post another review if i do try this again. in the meantime, i'm giving "Soft Christmas Cookies" and "Sugar Cookies VII" a try. look for reviews there soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BETSYBUG76
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
This is the most perfect soft sugar cookie recipe I have found, and I have tried a LOT. The dough is perfectly firm and not too wet. It is super easy to cut out and they are soft, but not crumbly. I baked them for 8 minutes exactly. They do need frosting - and frosting them is the best part!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
The only difference I did was chill the dough in the freezer for an hour. This is probably the worst cookie recipe I've come across. After testing one batch, the rest went in the trash. The dough is way too gooey for rolling--even after adding a lot of flour. The cookie itself tastes like a bland pancake (I think due to the 3 eggs). DON'T TRY THIS COOKIE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma_s

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This by far is a great sugar cookie recipe.Just be careful and don't over bake.The recipe called for a 375 oven but I put mine on 350,they are sooooo yummy.I will make these again and again.:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2000
I hated making rolled sugar cookies until I tried this recipe. The dough is very easy to work with and the results are great! These taste like the soft sugar cookies one can order from a well-known gourmet cookie company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I was searching for a dependable recipe to use as a give away at a wedding shower I hosted. I read all the reviews (as always) and used this recipe to make heart shape cut out which I decorated with royal icing in the wedding colors. On one cookie I put bride and groom's names, on another the wedding date. After the icing firmed I put them back to back in a little cellophane bag and tied with ribbon to match. They looked lovely in a basket by the door, and the bride gave a bag to each guest as they left. Cheap and Cheerful! Thats the ticket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIQUITA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States