Michelle's Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
These are amazing. Like others I didn't have cream of tarter so I substituted. And baking them @ 375 for 7 min was perfect. I definatly will be using this over and over. Even my husband who is very picky when it comes to cookies (they have to be soft) loves these. Even now 6 days later after i made my first batch the cookies are still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Worst cut-out recipe I have ever tried. I followed the directions to a T and even added additional flour when it never formed into a dough. I figured maybe after a night in the fridge that's what it was supposed to do? NO. I took it out the next morning and couldn't even use it. So disappointing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These cookies were not only easy to make, they taste amazing!!! I love soft, chewy cookies and these are amazing. I used the spritz cookie press and they came out great in that. Would def. recommend!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I used real butter and no problems with the dough sticking. Also, I used a tip from a previous rater--use poweder sugar when rolling out the dough. The cookies were GREAT! One of the best sugar cookie recipes I've tried so far. I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I am surprised by all of the rave reviews of this recipe. First, I agree with other reviewers that the dough is very sticky and difficult to work with unless you use a lot of flour while rolling which makes the cookies dry and taste like flour. I should have tried rolling it between parchment paper as other reviewers suggested so that is my fault. The texture of the finished product is good but the cookies expand quite a bit and didn't work with some of my more intricate cookie cutters. Lastly, I agree with other reviewers that the cookies have a strange aftertaste due to the cream of tartar. I had a cup of tea after eating two cookies and I can still taste the sour/bitter aftertaste of the cream of tartar. I assume the amount of cream of tartar is what helps give the cookies more volume so one would have to experiment with using less. I did like the fact that the cookies were not too sweet which is good if you are going to use icing. I will have to experiment with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
These are great! dough is very sticky, even after putting in the fridge 24 hrs so I just made round ones. I think they would be too difficult to cut with cutters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
these are the first sugar cookies that worked out for me. They tasted good and were very easy. If tey are cold enough they are not sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
These SOFT sugar cookies are excellent and very easy to make. My son, who is 4&1/2, and I, made them together using many different shaped cutters and sizes. It was very easy to do and very good to eat! We used butter instead of margarine and we did not have time to chill the dough overnight, but we did chill the dough for about 5 hours and it was perfect. The more that you chill the dough, the easier it will be for cutting the shapes. The only thing that I would recommend and do the next time, is to make sure that you do not roll the dough any smaller than a 1/4inch thick. We used some cutters that were small and if the cookies were not real thick, the did get harder that the ones that were rolled to 1/4inch or more. THESE COOKIES ARE EXCELLENT AND VERY EASY! I WILL BE USING THE RECIPE AGAIN IN THE NEAR FUTURE. We made a butter cream frosting for them, which I am not a frosting fan, so half of them I made into cut out Snickerdoodles and they were excellent also. All I did was toss the cut out shapes of dough, carefully in a sugar/cinnamon mixture before baking. They were terrific! Whichever way you make them, chill the dough, cut out to a good measurement, and do NOT overcook and everyone will be very happy and impressed. I was impressed, for sure, especially how easy they were working with a young child. HE HAD A BLAST!!!! THANKS FOR THE SHARE, MICHELLE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I was sceptic to use this recipe cuz my boyfriend was looking for sugar cookies that were "chewy" so to speak, but yet not like the store bought cookies. I used an icing recipe, edited to be thick, to frost them. No complaints from him and the rest of the family so, I am now going to give this recipe a spot in my recipe box to use from now on. I'm sure it will be a family favorite for Christmas and other holidays, along with general baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelindaSAbel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Once cooked, these cookies had an AMAZING melt-in your mouth texture. But, like other reviewers, mine were nearly impossible to work with. I used the allrecipes serving calculator (above the ingredients list) to double the recipe. Then I made the recipe exactly as written. The dough was almost soupy. I double checked to make sure I hadn't left anything out or not added enough of something. I thought maybe it just needed to chill, so I left it in the refrigerator overnight. The next morning it was workable only if I sprayed my hands with olive oil before rolling the balls. Even then, a lot of the dough stuck to my hands. I currently have the dough in the freezer to see if that will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States