Michelle's Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Good soft cookies But too salty for me. I followed this recipe as stated only used unsalted butter instead of margarine. Next time I will only use 1/4 teaspoon of salt. These cookies don't need that much salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Fabulous! Finally a sugar cookie you can cut out and still want to eat! Keep shape nicely and taste great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KristinH
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
This was, by far, the BEST sugar cookie recipe I've ever tried! I don't like margarine so I used butter, and I also cut out the soda and cream of tartar in favor of 4 tsp. baking powder. Baked for 7 minutes exactly and they were soft and delicious! I made heart shaped cookies for my daughter's Kindergarten Valentine's party, and the kids kept asking for more! ** If you have a problem with the dough sticking, try butter instead of margarine. The butterfat firms perfectly once it's refrigerated long enough, and will roll out very well. If you had a problem with the dough being too firm, you've used too much flour. Try weighing your flour instead of measuring- it's much more accurate, and will fix the texture for you. You can get weight/volume conversions with a simple internet search! Thanks, Michelle, for a perfect cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sabina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
When I chose to try this recipe it was because it was supposedly a cut out recipe. Well it sat for 24 hours but still stuck to everything. I will not use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lmfansler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrah, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
followed recipe exactly ( TWICE ) and the next day when i took the dough out of the fridge to make the cookies the dough was hard as a rock (even at room temperature). My sister tried it too with the same exact results : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
What a great sugar cookie recipe. I used this dough to make 'Melted Snowmen cookies' which were a fun treat for the holidays. This dough easily presses to make the base for the cookie, and the taste of the cookie was awesome. http://www.crazydomestic.com/2010/12/melted-snowman-cookies.html
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb A.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Perfect. I used this recipe to make the Melted Snowman cookies....love this cookie. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by helzbelz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
the dough is impossible to work with, chilled it 24+ hours, still stuck to waxpaper and parchment paper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was the 1st "from scratch" recipe I tried for sugar cookies. They came out just the way I'd hoped they would. A little crunchy around the rims, but soft and light in the middle after cooling & even next day. YUM. This is a keeper recipe! Thank you for sharing. Most simple recipe and quite quick too. I only added 1 1/4 cups of sugar as I knew I'd like the cookies to be less sweet cause there would be icing and lots of other kid friendly decorations. If you follow instructions to a T, they do come out very soft, not all crumbly and hard. I baked cookies for about 6 minutes, and turned the sheet pan around so it was evenly cooked. Just my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I thought these cookies were not sweet enough and left a bad aftertaste after eating. I didn't have the cream of tartar so I used the extra baking soda as others suggested. I had to use extra icing to get them to taste sweet. I will not be making these again. If you like your sugar cookie not sweet, but soft then these are for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 348) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States