Michelle's Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
these are the first sugar cookies that worked out for me. They tasted good and were very easy. If tey are cold enough they are not sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
These SOFT sugar cookies are excellent and very easy to make. My son, who is 4&1/2, and I, made them together using many different shaped cutters and sizes. It was very easy to do and very good to eat! We used butter instead of margarine and we did not have time to chill the dough overnight, but we did chill the dough for about 5 hours and it was perfect. The more that you chill the dough, the easier it will be for cutting the shapes. The only thing that I would recommend and do the next time, is to make sure that you do not roll the dough any smaller than a 1/4inch thick. We used some cutters that were small and if the cookies were not real thick, the did get harder that the ones that were rolled to 1/4inch or more. THESE COOKIES ARE EXCELLENT AND VERY EASY! I WILL BE USING THE RECIPE AGAIN IN THE NEAR FUTURE. We made a butter cream frosting for them, which I am not a frosting fan, so half of them I made into cut out Snickerdoodles and they were excellent also. All I did was toss the cut out shapes of dough, carefully in a sugar/cinnamon mixture before baking. They were terrific! Whichever way you make them, chill the dough, cut out to a good measurement, and do NOT overcook and everyone will be very happy and impressed. I was impressed, for sure, especially how easy they were working with a young child. HE HAD A BLAST!!!! THANKS FOR THE SHARE, MICHELLE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I was sceptic to use this recipe cuz my boyfriend was looking for sugar cookies that were "chewy" so to speak, but yet not like the store bought cookies. I used an icing recipe, edited to be thick, to frost them. No complaints from him and the rest of the family so, I am now going to give this recipe a spot in my recipe box to use from now on. I'm sure it will be a family favorite for Christmas and other holidays, along with general baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelindaSAbel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
Once cooked, these cookies had an AMAZING melt-in your mouth texture. But, like other reviewers, mine were nearly impossible to work with. I used the allrecipes serving calculator (above the ingredients list) to double the recipe. Then I made the recipe exactly as written. The dough was almost soupy. I double checked to make sure I hadn't left anything out or not added enough of something. I thought maybe it just needed to chill, so I left it in the refrigerator overnight. The next morning it was workable only if I sprayed my hands with olive oil before rolling the balls. Even then, a lot of the dough stuck to my hands. I currently have the dough in the freezer to see if that will help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great sugar cookie! After trying another recipe for sugar cookies that left me with sand like dough, I found this recipe and decided to give it a go. I followed the review of others and substituted cream or tarter and baking soda for 4 tsp of baking powder. I don't cook with margarine, so i used butter instead. Since I was testing these for flavor with the first attempt, I didn't chill and just dropped large spoonfuls on my baking sheets right after mixing all ingredients. I baked at 400 degrees for 10 min, as I was using double insulated baking sheets. They came out perfect! Slight crunch on the outside and a nice soft center. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by troll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I have tried several sugar cookie recipes and these are the BEST! They are soft and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These cookies were delicious and very soft, but they were nearly impossible to work with. I followed the recipe exactly, but even after chilling the dough for 24 hours it was too sticky to roll and cut with cutters. It was even very difficult to roll it in balls because it all just stuck to my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
My mom had always talked about a recipe for sugar cookies from "way back when". The only specific thing she could remember that made them different was the addition of cream of tartar, but she was never able to find that recipe. When I stumbled upon this recipe I decided to try it and surprise my mom with the cookies. It worked, these were perfect. They bake up very well and they stay extremely soft, which is exactly how we like our sugar cookies. I haven't tried rolling & cutting them yet, but I think it's a very safe assumption they would do well with that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
These were awesome. I only made one change...I had to substitute shortening because I didn't have any butter or margarine. These are my new go to sugar cookies! Perfect texture and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
These were wonderful. I refrigerated my dough over night and it rolled beautifully the next day. These were good with either buttercream icing or royal icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States