Michelle's Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great sugar cookie! After trying another recipe for sugar cookies that left me with sand like dough, I found this recipe and decided to give it a go. I followed the review of others and substituted cream or tarter and baking soda for 4 tsp of baking powder. I don't cook with margarine, so i used butter instead. Since I was testing these for flavor with the first attempt, I didn't chill and just dropped large spoonfuls on my baking sheets right after mixing all ingredients. I baked at 400 degrees for 10 min, as I was using double insulated baking sheets. They came out perfect! Slight crunch on the outside and a nice soft center. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
I have tried several sugar cookie recipes and these are the BEST! They are soft and great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
These cookies were delicious and very soft, but they were nearly impossible to work with. I followed the recipe exactly, but even after chilling the dough for 24 hours it was too sticky to roll and cut with cutters. It was even very difficult to roll it in balls because it all just stuck to my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
My mom had always talked about a recipe for sugar cookies from "way back when". The only specific thing she could remember that made them different was the addition of cream of tartar, but she was never able to find that recipe. When I stumbled upon this recipe I decided to try it and surprise my mom with the cookies. It worked, these were perfect. They bake up very well and they stay extremely soft, which is exactly how we like our sugar cookies. I haven't tried rolling & cutting them yet, but I think it's a very safe assumption they would do well with that too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
These were awesome. I only made one change...I had to substitute shortening because I didn't have any butter or margarine. These are my new go to sugar cookies! Perfect texture and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Elizabeth City, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
These were wonderful. I refrigerated my dough over night and it rolled beautifully the next day. These were good with either buttercream icing or royal icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Yummy as is. Followed the recipe except not having the tartar I took other advice and used powder in place of it and the soda. Just out of the oven now and I think they taste great even before the frosting. Oh yah I forgot I added just maybe a tea or tablespoon of lemon juice as well. Will definitely be my go to sugar cookie. THANKS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
These sugar cookies were good but i would only make them to put sprinkles or icing on. I tasted them before i decorated them and they werent that flavorful....... but they were nice and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Wow! I made these today, they turned out wonderful!!! Just like the soft sugar cookies from the store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mishl555

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were fantastic! Either than tasting GREAT, they were super good for the cookie cutter. I accidently left them out all night, uncovered and they stayed super soft! I love this recipe and will definiatly use it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States