Michelle's Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I was disappointed in the outcome of these cookies. The first time I made a batch, I used butter instead of margarine and didn't use cream of tarter because I didn't have any. The dough seemed very soft after being chilled for 8 hours+. I ended up throwing the bath away instead of baking cookies. The second time around I grab the wrong recipe out of my recipe box and made these cookies again... I used margarine and cream of tarter this time and again the cookies were way too soft. I followed the recipe to the T and am confused to how this recipe could have gotten so many good reviews. I wasn't able to roll them out after chilling and ended up having to make drop cookies. The end result was nothing exceptional and I won't make them again. And I am only giving 1 star because I have to in order to post. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2009
These cookies are good, but could definitely be softer. And I wouldn't eat them without icing on them (I just mixed butter, icing sugar, vanilla and canned milk) If you're going to eat them without icing, I would definitely reccommend sprinkling sugar on top before putting them in the oven! I didn't refridgerate over night, I just put them in the fridge for an hour, and they were super easy to roll out! I'm not sure if I will make them again, I think I'll go back to cream cheese sugar cookies for the texture :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UniCook
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I've made this recipe several times and they always come out moist and tasty. I've made them as rolled sugar cookies. I've also rolled the dough into balls and rolled in either rainbow sprinkles or cinnamon sugar (so they're like snickerdoodles). Every time I made them my friends and family couldn't stop eating them. For those who had trouble rolling them out - I place the dough between 2 sheets of saran wrap and roll flat and then put it in the fridge/freezer for an hour or so before cutting them. This always works for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieChic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I made these per the instructions. These cookies are soft, but that's not to be confused with chewy and moist. They are dry and devoid of flavor, and the texture is like I used biscuit mix to make cookie dough. There is no way you will be able to use this recipe for rolled cookies (too sticky, even after overnight in the fridge). I made drop cookies with it and baked about 7 minutes (they were dry, so I can't imagine what it would do to a cut-out cookie!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
These cookies were soft. But they looked inedible. The batter spread out so much I could only put 4 cookies per sheet. Good taste if you could get past the appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Only giving this 4 stars because this is not a roll out dough. Cookie flavor is 5 star all the way! Cookie itself is very good - light and fluffy, but no way is this a roll out dough. I don't know how much more flour or powdered sugar would be needed to get this to a roll out consistency. Ended up making drop cookies with this recipe and the cookies were very light and fluffy with just the right amount of sweetness. I didn't feel that icing was necessary, but the kids really wanted to decorate "Easter" cookies. The texture of these cookies is almost the same as the frosted cookies you can find at Walmart or other grocery stores. Even though they wondered why they weren't egg or bunny shaped, everybody loved the cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
I've tried lots of different sugar cookie recipes and this is my favorite hands-down. I love that they stay soft and chewy for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Garber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
It took over 20 years to find a sugar cookie recipe that tastes like Grandmas. This recipe is excellent. The only substitution would be butter for margarine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CATIETOD
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I *really* liked the texture of these cookies. They were very soft and the dough was very easy to work with once it was chilled. However, I thought the taste left a lot to be desired (perhaps because it uses margarine instead of butter?). In my opinion, a good sugar cookie doesn't necessarily need any icing and we often enjoy sugar cookies without any adornment. This cookie cannot be eaten on its own -- it definitely needs some icing. A blah cookie on its own, but a very nice, soft base for frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I have been looking for the perfect SOFT sugar cookie recipe and this is definitely it! I did roll them out extra thick and was careful not to overcook them. They held their shape and turned out perfect! Thanks so much for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 349) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States