Michelle's Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Fabulous recipe! I substituted butter for the margerine and 4 tsp. baking powder for the baking soda/cream of tartar. I chilled the dough for 30 minutes in the fridge and 10 in the freezer. The cookies turned out GREAT! Plus, my kids rolled the dough and used cookie cutters to cut shapes...the dough was man-handled to say the least! The kids even rolled little eyes and mouths for the little "angel" cookies they made and even with all that, the cookies turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
The dough is very deceiving. It is perfect for rolling out and has a beautiful texture. Once you bake the dough, it loses ALL flavor. These cookies taste terrible! Kind of like cornbread with no cornmeal or flattened unsweetened cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
These cookies tasted good, but they were a bit too oily for my liking. I used rather large cookie cutters and they expanded to be much larger than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robynna.z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
These were great....easy to roll, cut and frost and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I was very unhappy with the way the dough came out for this particular cookie. I chilled them, even added extra flour, but they would not roll out. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
The dough was really sticky prior to putting in the refrigerator. I left it there for about an hour and the dough was perfect for drop cookies. I'm not sure they would ever work for rolled cookies. Cooked for about 8 minutes and they were perfect soft cake-like cookies. Best sugar cookies I've ever made!! Better than the kind you buy at the market.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APKinney

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The best-followed recepe to the tee. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Wetzel Johnston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
BEST sugar cookie recipe ever. I make lots of cookies and people order them and I make some extra money. Never did sugar cookies cause I always had a problem with them not rolling out nice. Now I do sugar cookies with this recipe. It rolls out smoothly cuts nice and comes out soft. If it was possible I would rate it a 100*. Thank you for great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
These cookies were wonderful! I loved how soft they were (and they stayed that way even a few days after I had baked them!). I had leftover cream cheese frosting form a cake I made and topped my cookies with it and that took the cookies to a whole new level
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I used this recipe to make a base for Strawberry Sugar Cookie Pizza. I baked these cookies in mini heart shaped pans, so the outer crust looks pretty hard in my picture but the cookie itself is soft and delicious inside! Leaves a lovely aftertaste as well. I have to say, this recipe worked perfectly for this particular purpose - which is why I am giving it 5 stars. I will definitely be using this recipe for my strawberry dessert pizzas in the future! But not for a general sugar cookie fix because it didn't stay as soft as I would like it to be if I was just frosting it. Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 151-160 (of 350) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States