Michelle's Soft Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Dinga
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I have been using this recipe for at least 10 years. It is the perfect soft cut out cookie recipe. I have used it for birthday party's, baby showers, volley ball game snacks, Christmas etc. This recipe has never ever ever failed me. I roll the cookies out on parchment paper with dowel rods on each side to make the dough height consistent on each side, then I take the excess dough away and move the parchment paper to a baking sheet. (I pre-cut parchment paper to fit baking sheet & then tape dowel rod ends to counter just short the width of the rolling pin) I never have to move the cutout after rolling it out. I put a lollipop stick in it and bake. Turns out perfect. The cookies stay so soft. They taste perfect and are not too sweet so that it helps balance out against the frosting and sprinkles. The cookie does not stay flat. It puffs up a little which I prefer because it is light and fluffy yet firm enough to be eaten on a lollipop stick vs being hard and stiff. If you are putting them on a lollipop sticks make sure you buy dowell rods that are slightly thicker than the lollipop sticks, when inserting them turn the stick back and forth while putting your finger on top of the cookie so the stick does not come through the top. I highly recommend this recipe. I will never use another :) Thank you Michelle!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Best sugar cookies I have ever made, but what a process! I lose interest about halfway through, and never end up refrigerating the dough for as long as the recipe recommends. Still, if you have the patience, these are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
These cookies were incredible! I've tried many recipes on here, but, for some reason, the baked goods are always hit or miss. Not these! They were so easy to make, and they came out soft, tasty and just amazing. Everyone loved them. My elderly neighbor even asked for the recipe. The only thing I did differently was to use butter (unsalted) instead of margarine. I don't really like margarine and didn't have any on hand. Marvelous! Oh and I didn' thave any cream of tartar so I just used more baking soda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
This is a great recipe. I bake a lot and had no trouble with these cookies at all. I did substitute butter for the margarine (just personal preference). I made the dough in the evening and baked them the following morning. I was worried the dough might be very stiff after being chilled 6 hours, but it was great to work with. I doubled the recipe and used a 4'" heart shaped cookie cutter. I ended up with 47 cookies. They are very soft and the taste is great. I will be using this recipe often. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I tried this for the first time yesterday and it came out great! But I made a few changes. First I took out the cream of tarter ( but DID NOT ADD MORE BAKING SODA TO COMPENSATE) it will taste too much like baking soda if you do! I also added 1 tsp of butter extract in addition to the 1 tsp of vanilla. They were awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *BonBon*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I love this recipe, not super sweet yet still tastes like a cookie. I made it with butter and baking powder like the other comments. I left it in the fridge for two days and still tasted good. The dough gets really soft quickly, so work fast. I found the best method was to freeze the dough in flattened logs, spray the cookie cutter with nonstick cooking spray then dip the cutter in powdered sugar. I put powdered sugar on waxed paper and on top of the dough. Rolled it out under another piece of waxed paper. I also put my rolling pin in the freezer. Baked at 350 for 11 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I should have reviewed this a long time ago as I make these all the time and EVERYONE loves them! I use butter instead of margarine and Cake and Pastry flour instead of all purpose. I double the vanilla. The dough goes in the fridge for an hour or so then gets rolled out thick and cut in to circles. Underbake them...8 min tops. Ice them with a buttercream...amazing. So soft, and they taste like a cupcake in cookie form! These don't make great shaped cut outs but thats ok. You can just decorate basic shapes like circles with cool sprinkles and candy. AWESOME cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lindee
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Very yummy n fluffy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
the dough was so sticky I couldn't even roll it. I followed the recipe to a T, with the exact ingredients. Unbelievable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
I followed the recipe. But instead of using cream of tartar, I used powdered candy canes! Yumm. They turned out great. Oh and I also used self rising flour instead of all purpose to make the dough rise faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 345) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States