Michelle's Famous Washed Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
I selfishly admit that I never bothered with anything other than canned cranberry sauce for the simple reason that I don't like it. But this year I decided to make it myself as something a little special for my husband. He loved it and so did my mom! (Others at the table didn't even try it as they just don't like cranberry sauce either!) I used half orange juice and half water, and because so many reviewers commented that it was a little on the watery side I boiled it for 15 minutes to thicken it. What I found, however, was that once it cooled it really thickened, so 15 minutes was a little too long. My guess is that boiling this for 10 minutes would be just right. This is a beautiful sauce, jewel toned, definitely fresh looking, fresh tasting, and delicious. Best of all, my husband appreciated the extra effort. It was such a snap to put together I now wonder why I never made it until now. I will never buy canned again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I gave this recipe 4 stars. I used 1/2 cup orange juice and 2/3 cup water for boiling. I also boiled for about 5 minutes then simmered for 15 to reduce the sauce. It has thickened nicely in the fridge and it tastes divine. The perfect combination of sweet and then tart. I love the way the flavors explode on my tongue with the tart follwing the sweet. This will be served again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stratford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
So easy, very tasty, and best when made two days in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Not a cranberry sauce fan before this. Always had the canned stuff. Never again. I substituted orange juice for half of the water. It came out less firm than I would've liked so next time I'll use less liquid. But, there will definitely be a next time. Everyone had to eat it out of a bowl, but they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Terrific! First time I've tried cranberry sauce. So easy and the brown sugar makes all the difference. For a variation, I threw in some pomegranate seeds too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebcamuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
Simple to prepare. I won't go back to the canned stuff ever again. Replaced some of the water with orange juice because I like that combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This was the easiest most impressive dish I have ever served. I made the sauce using 3/4 cup of each of the sugars. I placed chicken breasts in a baking dish and pour the sauce over it. Baked 1 hour @ 350 degrees. Delicious. (works very well with pork also).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This cranberry lover prefers cranberries that are tart and not too sweet. I would use the 1/2 c. white sugar only. The brown sugar overpowered the cranberry flavor, and made the dish too sweet. Neither do I like the brown sugar taste mixed with the cranberry taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by graceismine
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
I have used this recipe for the last six years for Thanksgiving. It always gets such compliments. Why would anyone eat that nasty gel in a can when this is SO easy and tasty???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lenoir, North Carolina, USA
Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is a good recipe--not too sweet, and I like the combo of white & brown sugar. I always cook my cranberries until they pop & the sauce thickens, so that takes far longer than 5 minutes. I thought the sauce tasted a little acidic, so I added a teaspoon of vanilla, and that made all the difference for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States