Michelle's Famous Washed Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
This was delicious, but missed five stars because of the excess water in the recipe. I will reduce water to 1 cup and it should be perfect! This will be the recipe I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
A perfect recipe for cranberry sauce. The color was divine, the balance of tart and sweet was heavenly. I added a 1/2 cup of OJ and a generous splash of Grand Marnier to mine. My mother (who lives right next door) made hers w/o the OJ and GM and I preferred hers over mine, but mine was fabulous so it was a close call. Five stars all around. No excuse to eat it from a can. Fresh is best and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
Very tasty and soooo easy! I agree, better the next day. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brentwood, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
It's a terrific recipe, but I agree that there's too much water and it should include the caveat that it's best served chilled. but thanks - at least one person didn't believe i'd made it myself but the dirty pot was right there on the stove, so...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I doubled the recipe for tomorrow's Thanksgiving. I really liked the taste howeever, it kinda left a bitter sweet after taste, but I think that is because I tried it warm, and even my husband says its good, but needs to be cold, I agree, tomorrow it will taste better. I did add 1/2 cup orange juice to this recipe and found that it was too liquid so I spooned some of the juice out about 1 cuo and it seemed to work. Next time I will cut the amount of water and just substitute for OJ. Nevertheless great recipe! We will see how it goes tomrrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baubon

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
Wow! How easy can it get? By reducing the water to 1 cup, the sauce thickened and jelled perfectly, so no need for cornstarch. Made a day ahead, the flavors can develop better, too. The sauce has a beautiful, jewel-like color that you just can't get from a can. I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 because, as much as I love brown sugar, I think I'd prefer all white in this recipe. It does come out tart, so if you expect it to be as sweet as canned, add more sugar to taste as the sauce cools.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RCKim

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
This recipe is great... we just made a double batch in anticipation of Thanksgiving. Followed quantities exactly, but boiled for about 15 minutes and mixed 1 tsp cornstarch with 2 tablespoons water and added it right at the end. Perfect consistency. We will definitely make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
This is an awesome recipe. The stuff in the can never looked appetizing so I never ate it. Now that I make my own, it's so much better and appealing, everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This is a good recipe--not too sweet, and I like the combo of white & brown sugar. I always cook my cranberries until they pop & the sauce thickens, so that takes far longer than 5 minutes. I thought the sauce tasted a little acidic, so I added a teaspoon of vanilla, and that made all the difference for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Very simple and much better than canned cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States