Michelle's Famous Washed Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This is really the very basic of cranberry sauce recipes. Like other reviewers, I use half the fluid as orange juice (fresh), but also (all the following by "taste") add the zest of the squeezed orange. I add a little cinnamon and ginger, and depending on the company, perhaps a jigger of bourbon (added while simmering the cranberry "plus" so that the aclohol boils off) or port. (I prefer the bourbon.) When kept in the fridge it is terrific days later! Oh, I always use two bags of cranberry instead of one. As Jane Marple said, "I cannot resist my own cooking" (though others might!). Happy Holidays to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I gave this recipe 4 stars. I used 1/2 cup orange juice and 2/3 cup water for boiling. I also boiled for about 5 minutes then simmered for 15 to reduce the sauce. It has thickened nicely in the fridge and it tastes divine. The perfect combination of sweet and then tart. I love the way the flavors explode on my tongue with the tart follwing the sweet. This will be served again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stratford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
Not a cranberry sauce fan before this. Always had the canned stuff. Never again. I substituted orange juice for half of the water. It came out less firm than I would've liked so next time I'll use less liquid. But, there will definitely be a next time. Everyone had to eat it out of a bowl, but they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4callmemommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
This turned out fantastic. So delicious and fresh tasting too. I used orange juice instead of water. It wasn't too "orangy" - just had a freshness to it I don't think it would have had with just water. I'll never buy the jarred kind again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner. Everyone ate it, which has never happened with any cranberry dish. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Terrific! First time I've tried cranberry sauce. So easy and the brown sugar makes all the difference. For a variation, I threw in some pomegranate seeds too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebcamuse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Turned out great. This was so easy and tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This is a really nice recipe and very easy to follow for a first timer. The flavor was sweet and tart at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hazleton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
So easy, very tasty, and best when made two days in advance!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States