Michelle's Famous Washed Cranberry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
This was the best cranberry sauce ever! I will not buy the can again. I replaced half of the water with OJ, used the same amount of both sugars, boiled for 5 min and then simmered for 15 minutes to get it a little thicker. I let it cool at room temp and it was perfect. Thank you for a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roanoke, Virginia, USA
Living In: Clemmons, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This is so DELISH! I used the amount of water called for in the recipe, but added a few scoops of frozen orange juice concentrate to the pot. I made this with Splenda granulated sugar and Splenda brown sugar and it turned out wonderfully! I have only tasted it from the cooled pot and love the flavor. I can't wait to see how it is with my Turkey dinner! My husband, who doesn't like cranberries, even said it was really good! I think this sauce would be terrific over a piece of angel food cake with whipped topping! :) Yumm! My only advice is to watch the pot! Mine bubbled over and made a huge, sticky mess- totally my fault!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
LOved this, I substituted Apple juice for the water and lessened the white sugar and added orange peel. Loved it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Yum! This is my first time making cranberry sauce. I can't believe how easy it was. I also used 1 cup of pulpy orange juice and got back a bit on the white sugar. I didn't have any pumpkin pie spice but I did have some apple pie spice on hand and added a couple of dashes. After boiling for 5 minutes I simmered for 15 more. Be sure to still often...the sugars will scorch if you don't. I can't wait until tomorrow to eat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMMBAH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glenolden, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Excellent. I also added pumpkin spice and a splash of orange juice. I have found that the trick to get it really thick (cut it with a knife thick!)is to let it cool completely at room temperature. I have put my sauce in the fridge too soon, only to end up with runny sauce. It seems counter intuitive, but it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
Wonderful! I made a few changes. I used about 1 cup of Tropicana Pomegranate Blueberry juice along with 1/2 cup of water. Then, I cut the white sugar in half, and used the full amount of brown sugar. Then, I added just a splash of orange juice and a dash of cinnamon. Wow, is it good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Perfect! The brown sugar really makes this nice. I took the advice of a couple of the review and added a pinch of pumpkin pie spice, substituted 1 cup of orange juice for the water, cut out a 1/4 cup of sugar (since the O.J. is sweet) and let it simmer for additional 15 minutes to thicken. I've burned my mouth since I can't wait for it cool it's so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seven Valleys, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Based on another reviewer's recommendation, I squeezed juice from two oranges to get about a 1/2 cup of juice and used my potatoes peeler to scrape small bits of the orange peel into the mixture. the water was reduced to 2/3 since orange juice was added. I also added a bit of pumkin pie spice since it is a combination of all the right spices. I wish I doubled the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2006
This is really the very basic of cranberry sauce recipes. Like other reviewers, I use half the fluid as orange juice (fresh), but also (all the following by "taste") add the zest of the squeezed orange. I add a little cinnamon and ginger, and depending on the company, perhaps a jigger of bourbon (added while simmering the cranberry "plus" so that the aclohol boils off) or port. (I prefer the bourbon.) When kept in the fridge it is terrific days later! Oh, I always use two bags of cranberry instead of one. As Jane Marple said, "I cannot resist my own cooking" (though others might!). Happy Holidays to all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2006
I gave this recipe 4 stars. I used 1/2 cup orange juice and 2/3 cup water for boiling. I also boiled for about 5 minutes then simmered for 15 to reduce the sauce. It has thickened nicely in the fridge and it tastes divine. The perfect combination of sweet and then tart. I love the way the flavors explode on my tongue with the tart follwing the sweet. This will be served again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melis

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stratford, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Tangerine Cherry Cranberry Sauce

See how to make a classic holiday cranberry sauce.

Cranberry Sauce I

This easy cranberry sauce is flavored with orange juice. Enjoy!

How to Make Cranberry Sauce

Learn how to make this quick, delicious recipe using whole cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States