Michelle's Coconut Chicken Curry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
SO GOOD. I've made this several times. I've tried making some additions such as potatoes and carrots, and those were good, but honestly I prefer the recipe as written. The cauliflower and onions and chicken are quite enough substance to carry these wonderful flavors, and I think adding other things muddies it just a bit. The one change I have made that I would make again is using chicken thighs rather than breasts. Just personal preference that I like how moist the thighs are. Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Good base recipe, but YES, like most everyone else, I added heat AND more veges. Used a bag of frozen cauliflower, not fresh, and it was totally fine. Also used 3 (med) carrots, and added a bag of frozen peas and about a cup of frozen edamame. Used Thai red curry spice and added red pepper flakes and cayenne. Also took others' advice and added about 2 TS of corn starch to the chicken while it was cooking, so that the sauce was a bit thicker than it would have been. We really enjoyed eating this for several meals! This recipe can be easily tweaked to suit your taste preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
FANTASTIC recipe but you HAVE to follow all of the reviews! I added brown sugar, potatoes, and a bit of red pepper to give it a kick. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Loved this - but made the following modifications/additions: 4 cloves garlic, 1 tsp fresh ginger, 2 tbls brown sugar, 3/4 cup roasted cashews, carrots, cubed potato, snap peas, 1/2 tsp cayenne, 5 tbls curry powder, 1 cup chunk pineapple, used coconut oil (instead of vegetable oil) plus one tbls of ghee, added enough low sodium chicken stock to almost cover, simmered for at least a hour. Served with rice. This was a great recipe to use and modify - thank you so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
The first time I made this it became a household favorite. I made the original recipe with no modifications, and the family loved it. It is so basic you could do almost anything. Added 1/2 cup cashews and 1/2 cup raisins once. Another time I added 1 Tbs ginger and left out the cauliflower. It all depends on what I have in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Akron, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Really good!! Perfect heat!! Used half & half instead of heavy cream and will try coconut milk next time instead. Used Greek yogurt which made it thicker. Doubled the sauce too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Just made this tonight. Let me start by saying DH and I are not big curry fans. But still trying to broaden our horizons. I have to admit it was good! Easy to follow instructions and really pretty darned tasty. I didn't have cauliflower so I subbed red potatoes. Thank you for sharing your recipe with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
For my first time trying to make curry this is a great start. It did need some additional spices so I had to add about a teaspoon of chicken bouillon as this was my first time making curry I was scared to overwhelm the recipe. I did substitute the cauliflower with potato and carrots as well. Next time I will most definitely try some of the suggestions from the comments as they all sound so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
I added the extras people suggested, but it still tasted bland. I did have really cheap curry and perhaps if I added more quality curry, it would have tasted better. Also, I added a lot of salt and that helped. It tasted better the second day after the flavors marinated overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Needs more curry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Chef John's Coconut Chicken Curry

Watch Chef John make a fantastic faux-curry chicken dish.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States