Michelle's Blonde Chicken Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
I hate the reviews that state: this was a great/awful recipe, but I didn't follow any of the directions or use any of the right ingredients. That said, I love this recipe. However, I use about 4-5 cloves garlic in place of the powder, double the chilies and add celery. I also saute the garlic, onion, celery, and chilies, add the broth and boil the chicken in the broth. (Because of this, I usually add a few cups more broth.) When the chicken is cooked, I shred it and put it back in the broth and add the beans. I also mash up some of the beans for a thicker soup. I've made this the night before, refrigerated and heated in a slow cooker the next morning. It's very yummy. This is excellent for left overs also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2001
Excellent Recipe. I replaced one can of green chili's with a can of jalepenos instead, and it added even more spunk to this recipe. I added garlic as well.. because I love it! This was great, and it sat in my crock pot for 6 hourss on low and maintained perfectly all day. Great as a leftover too. One recommendation *** drain the beans so the slimy consistency is gone, replace liquid by using the remainder of the chicken broth(I used a whole can of fat free chicken broth), then use your blender or a fork to mash the last 2 cans before adding them in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This was a really good chicken chili. My family loved it! I always read reviews and make a few changes based on what I read. Here is what I did: I made this in the crock pot so I used whole chicken breasts. They were easy to shred at the end which gave the chicken the texture I wanted. I also added more garlic, cumin and oregano. I find that any dish with beans often needs more spice when it cookes so long. I added a can of Rotel Tomatos (spiced up chopped tomatoes) to it as well. Before adding the beans, I drained them and rinsed them. I always drain and rinse canned beans before using them. I served this with white rice (my husband and son like chili on rice) and grated cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
I submitted this recipe years ago, looked it up on a whim and WOW! I can't believe so many people have tried this recipe. Just a few notes on how I have changed it over the years: Now I use a combination of navy beans, pinto beans, and great northern beans. I use a lot more broth than 2 cups, I periodically add broth to cover the ingredients as I add them. If I have time, I boil the chicken breast whole and then shred it by hand, it really adds good texture. I no longer use the bean juice. Instead I take a can of beans, drain, rinse and food process or mash by hand and it makes the broth thicker. I'm so glad so many people have enjoyed this chili. Chili can be a comfort food and healthy at the same time. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is a great recipe.I do mine with a few changes,instead of browning the chicken,I start with a quart of chicken broth and cook the chicken breasts in it until opaque.Then I remove the breasts and shred the meat,continue boiling the broth until reduced by half.Everything else is the same.A nice garnish is sour cream and seeded and minced fresh jalapeno chilies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sylvan Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2007
This is a favorite receipe at our house especially on Christmas Eve. I cook it in a crock pot add 8 oz of sourcream and 3lb. of Monterey Jack cheese just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merrill, Iowa, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I've been searching for a chicken chili recipe. I've tried others that bored me to tears because they were so bland. This one is wonderful! I did poach then shred the chicken. I used one can of diced chili peppers and one can of Rotel tomatoes with green chili peppers because this was what I had on hand and because another member did the same and said it worked. Great recipe! Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcmurray, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This was very delicious. I followed other reviews suggestions to poach the chicken breast and shred them rather than cubing them. Definitely worth the extra effort..YUM..love shredded chicken. This receipe has a very generous amount of chicken in it and could make do with less. In fact I didn't put all I had in. The seasonings were just a touch to heavy for my taste and probably would use a little less next time...cumin is a very potent flavor. I substituted dried cilantro as I didn't have fresh and was surprised to find it tasted pretty good. Fresh cilantro would be better, though. I would add something to give it a little heat next time as we like spicy foods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
DEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELISH. This is one of the foods I mark as "better the second day." I placed the leftovers in the fridge and when I ate them for lunch all of the spices and delishiousness had blended together even more. I served this with whole wheat chips. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I was excited to make this because of all the stellar reviews and because I've never had chicken chili and it sounded pretty healthy. This is a TON of chicken and a TON of beans. I wish I had cut recipe in half. I did poach and shred the chicken (which took a while - 3 pounds of chicken!!) and then mashed the last 2 cans of beans. Also, added more broth. This stuff might be the most unappetizing looking recipe I've ever made. The little pink wormy things from the great northern beans don't help. :-( And, this was very bland to me. This is edible, but won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Chicken and White Bean Chili

See how to make a simple and delicious white bean chili.

Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili

This zesty white-bean chili packs some heat!

White Bean Chicken Breast Chili

A flavorful chili that’s a little lighter with less fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States