Michell Jenny's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2000
I made this for a Family Easter Dinner and everyone raved about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This is my first and the best Challah!! Not having a bread machine, I hand knead it for 15 minutes. It turned out great! I also brush some egg york with honey on the surface before baking. Oh this is so good my family couldn't stop eating. A must-try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
This is the best Challah recipe I have ever used. I usually use an eyewhite wash and sprinkle poppy seeds on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
Great flavour! For the lazy amongst you, halved the amount and set to a basic white for complete bread machine ease (add a little more flour though). I now use this as my everday loaf!! Also tried it with dry active yeast with no problems as long as you reactivate first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
Wow! This is by far the best loaf of bread I have ever made with the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I have made this bread many times and every time it comes out perfect! I've had many requests for this recipe. I can always count on this recipe to come out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Oh so easy, but be sure not to over bake so it is not dry. I added 1 cup of raisins which I had covered with water and replumped in the microwave on high for five minutes, drained and let cool. I brushed the top prior to baking with honey,thin with a little water if it is difficult to spread and sprinkle with poppy seeds. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This is an excellent recipe. I just love this bread toasted with homemade strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
My goodness, this recipe came down directly from heaven. Its one of the best bread i have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I use this recipe for almost all of our festive Jewish occasions and everyone raves about and requests this challah! Thank you Michell! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States