Michell Jenny's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Replaces my old recipe. Turned out beautiful and delicious. I used honey and egg yolk glaze before baking and it turned it slightly sweet and golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
Very nice bread. It is light but still eggy, so works well as sandwiches. Also very easy to braid as well. I made two braided loaves a while ago and then popped them in the freezer. I pulled one out tonight for dinner. This is good plain, with butter, and for chicken sandwiches. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
Excellent flavor. Had to add a little bit more water, but fantastic. The picky boyfriend loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe makes a large and pretty loaf of bread. The flavor was good, but I would have liked it to have more honey flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I use 2 cups of milk and heat it for one minute. It is a SUPER moist challah that gets requested constantly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by esther7mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Absolutely delicious, I added dried cranberries for a tangy twist. WARNING: it rose so high in my bread machine, it over-flowed. I DO NOT recommend this recipe for a bread machine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
I followed the recipe as is and it is really good! I will be making it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna164

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pleasant Ridge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I was delicious! Mouthwatering, flaky, angel soft and simply tasty! I made the dough in a bread machine and then baked it in the oven. I also sprinkled some sesame seeds on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
The next day, if any is left, this makes great french toast! I usually cut at least an inch thick slice, dip in an egg batter and fry it up. If I have fresh fruit, I will top it with that. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I love this bread. I have made it at least a half dozen times exactly as written with incredible results. I thought it would make an excellent savory bread so I kneaded in a 1/3 cup of diced pickled jalapeno and about 1/2 cup of shredded cheddar cheese. I also substituted white sugar for the honey. The result was a light yet rich loaf with the heat of jalapenos and the tang of cheddar cheese. Definitely a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allegra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States