Michell Jenny's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
Perfect! We love challah, but searched for one without the milk and sugar in the usual recipes. I bake this all the time even for our regular whole wheat sandwich bread, just replace the flour with whole wheat flour and add 4tsp. vital wheat gluten and it makes a perfect loaf of soft (not dense, hard, and heavy) wheat bread. Also makes great whole wheat dinner rolls just make the same adjustments and form into balls (12-15 or more depending on size preference) instead of forming a loaf and then cover and let rise 20-30 minutes until almost doubled in size, brush with egg glaze and bake 20-30 minutes or until done. I've even used the same dough (whole wheat of course) to make awesome whole wheat cinnamon rolls, just use this dough in place of the one on "clone of a cinnabon" on this site for a healthier version of that yummy recipe, and follow shaping and icing instructions using fat free cream cheese in place of the other in the recipe. I just love this recipe, soooo many possibilities and it freezes well too... thanks Ione!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wannabe Virtuous Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2002
Oh so easy, but be sure not to over bake so it is not dry. I added 1 cup of raisins which I had covered with water and replumped in the microwave on high for five minutes, drained and let cool. I brushed the top prior to baking with honey,thin with a little water if it is difficult to spread and sprinkle with poppy seeds. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2002
I have made this bread many times and every time it comes out perfect! I've had many requests for this recipe. I can always count on this recipe to come out right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
This is my first and the best Challah!! Not having a bread machine, I hand knead it for 15 minutes. It turned out great! I also brush some egg york with honey on the surface before baking. Oh this is so good my family couldn't stop eating. A must-try recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2000
Have have made this recipe on numerous occasions and it always turns out right. Have also passed the recipe on to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2000
This is a good white bread-I think it would be better with a bit more honey or sugar added. Best when toasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2000
I made this for a Family Easter Dinner and everyone raved about how good it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2000
This is the best Challah recipe I have ever used. I usually use an eyewhite wash and sprinkle poppy seeds on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
This is an excellent recipe. I just love this bread toasted with homemade strawberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
Wow! This is by far the best loaf of bread I have ever made with the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States