Michell Jenny's Challah Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Absolutely delicious bread. I don't have a bread machine so I just softened the yeast in the water, then whisked in the salt, honey, and oil (I can't be bothered to melt butter on the stove since I don't have a microwave). Stir in one cup of the flour, then the eggs. Stir in as much flour as you can, then knead in the remaining. I had to use a smidge more flour to get the right consistency. Tasty, wonderful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Yummy! I already ate half a loaf, and I made it a few hours ago. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
This was very good. I don't have a bread machine so this is what I did. In a large bowl mixed the water and the yeast let stand for 5 minutes. Mixed in the egg, butter and honey. Added the flour and the salt. Knead for 8 minutes. Place in an oiled bowl cover and let rise 1-1/2 hours until doubled. Then continued with the recipe instructions. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
I'm not sure if this is a fair rating to a Challah bread because I've never had challah before. I found the bread kind of boring tasting. There just wasn't much taste. My little sister loved it though so maybe it's just me. I just thought it was missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
I've made a lot of challah recipes in my day, and this is by far my favorite! It is always moist and buttery and absolutely delicious. I make the dough in my breadmaker and it's easy as can be. If I'm too lazy to braid it I just divide the dough in half and pop each in a loaf pan before the 2nd rising.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AbFab

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Occidental, California, USA
Living In: West Concord, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Absolutely Amazing! I can't believe this didn't come from some artisan bakery! Made it last night and will make it again today 'cause I gotta have more! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOWA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
We loved this Challah! It was wonderful. I set my oven for 40 minutes but next time I'll set it for 35 minutes. I did a 6 strand braid but I think I pulled it to tight. Will keep practicing now that I found a great recipe! I basted it with a mixture of one egg and 2 tbs. water. I also recommend dipping your finger in the egg and then on some sesame seed and rolling it to make a nicer presentation. Thank you Ione!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This is FABULOUS! A definite keeper! I made it just as directed. I also used my kitchenaid instead of a bread machine, but it turned out perfectly. I will be making this a lot more. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I loved this recipe. And I kept it in the bread machine instead of braiding the dou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Great, very moist and soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Piracicaba, São Paulo, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Challah I

See how to make traditional Jewish egg bread.

Miriam’s Not-So-Secret Challah

See how to make a light and airy challah.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States