Michele's Ground Beef Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I was disappointed that the rolls didn't cook all the way through and I waited to put the cheese on the top. They were light brown, I added the cheese. When it melted, I served the casserole and the underside of the rolls were gooey. Kind of reminded me of Shepherd's pie, without the mashed potatoes. ADDENDUM: I have decided this is much better the second and third day. Flavors were married beautifully. I was still disappointed the crescent rolls didn't bake up better. I do think biscuits would be great on top but make sure they are cooked all the way through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
My family loved it however made several changes due to what I had available. A couple friends happen to stop by with their son, they loved it too. I used 1 1/2 lbs ground beef, I did not have hot Italian sausage only original so I added a small jalapeno from the garden with seeds to meat while cooking. Because I used more burger, I added a little bit more flour, salt, pepper. I did not have oregano so I used MC Perfect Pinch Italian Seasoning and used 1/2 tsp. For the sauce, the brand I buy is smaller than what this recipe calls for so I used 23.5oz jar of Spicy Sausage Sauce plus a half a jar of Chunky 3 cheese. I did not have crescent rolls so I used butter flavored biscuits instead, I used a rolling pin and flattened them. I spread 1 C. shredded cheese on top of meat mix then put flattened biscuits on top, then added another cup of cheese. Baked for 25 minutes. EXCELLENT. I noticed several comments that said it needed some sprousing up...well this will do it! It gives it just enough kick but not where it is too spicy you can't eat it. My five stars is based on my changes, I am sure it is great the way she has it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petersburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I didn't have the exact ingredients available; but this is a great base recipe. Here is what I did: Browned the following: 12oz. Hot Italian Sausage (bulk) 8oz. Ground Beef 1 Orange Bell Pepper - chopped 1/2 large onion diced 1 heaping tbsp minced garlic I didn't have any frozen mixed veggies so I added the following: 5oz fresh sliced carrot 5oz fresh chopped celery 6oz frozen corn (thawed) 1 Fresh Jalapeno (chopped) 4 Roma Tomatos (chopped) Increased Oregano to 1/2 tsp and Black Pepper to 1/2 tsp I also didn't have a full 16 ounces for Spaghetti sauce, So I added 13oz. Spaghetti sauce with about 3 ounces of water. I topped this with a can of Immaculate Baking crescent rolls; since these are dairy free (and wonderful!). This came out delicious! Thank you Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
This dish was just ok. needs some sprousing up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hawki
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
this is awsom!Used regular pork sausage and added some cayenne pepper for some kick.It didn't surrive to have leftovers the next day! Will be making this again real soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2013
This is a new family favorite! I prefer the cheese layer underneath the dough topping so it stays soft. And the sweeter dough varieties that Pillsbury has are even tastier on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
i loved it and it was so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Was very good. The cheese burnt a little on our attempt and the dough topping was a little too sweet. Maybe a biscuit topping would have been less sweet and the cheese could be skipped. Will definitely make this again, the sausage and bell peppers make for a delicious aroma and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
Delicious and extremely easy! I did not have any crescent rolls, so used tater tots instead, and I didn't have italian sausage, so used the bulk pork breakfast sausage, and it was really good! Other than that, I made the recipe as given. Will definitely make it again!! Thanks Michele!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
very good recipe, however I add the cheese at the last few minutes in the oven, otherwise this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hendricks, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Ground Beef Shepherd’s Pie

See a quick-and-easy version of beefy shepherd’s pie.

Spaghetti Sauce with Ground Beef

See how to make a rich and meaty pasta sauce.

Slow Cooker Ground Beef Barbecue

See how to make tangy ground beef barbeque in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States