Michael's Foccacia Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
The only change I made was to omit the onion (personal preference). This was very good but because we don’t normally use a lot of salt, I wish I didn’t add the additional salt for the top. It was still very good and the bread had a wonderful texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
Fantastic! I love how quick and easy this is to make. It's easy to customize too by using different spices and toppings. My friends call this bread 'dangerous' because they can't stop eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Fabulous recipe. The loaf was huge, and yet there is very little left from our dinner party I baked this for tonight! I cheated by putting everything into the bread machine and using the dough setting (wet on bottom, dry on top) then shaping and baking myself. As with all foccacia recipes, I make up my own toppings and on this used salt, pepper, dried rosemary and fresh tomato slices. This will become part of my regular bread rotation. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I love this bread! and so do my kids! I make it often, rising takes longer and I top mine with mozza, purple onion and tomatoes and the we dip it in olive oil and balsamic and it is most wonderful! thanks for the recipe...obviously I don't use as much salt but its all personal preference I guess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizard_c9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I like this bread and will make it again. It has a light, fluffy inner texture. I used the prescribed 1 Tbsp of salt inside the dough, and just a sprinkling on top, and found it to be too salty tasting. Next time I will reduce the salt to 3/4 Tbsp instead of 1 Tbsp. Also, I don't know if the cheese is necessary but it gives it a nice appearance. A note about baking method (I did two loaves, each with a different baking method) - a dark bottomed pan coated with oil produces a nice medium brown bottom crust, but baking on wax paper resulted in the crust sticking to the wax paper and the bottom not browning at all. I had read the reviewer who said to use parchment paper and decided to use wax paper since I didn't have parchment. I don't know if the result would be the same, but I'm not willing to try it. Use an oiled, dark bottomed pan and you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This recipe is VERY good! Been on a focaccia "kick" here as of late, and have tried a few recipes I've seen here on ALLRECIPES. This one is by far the best, and easiest one I've tried. I make breads often and like trying new recipes of old favorites. This one is a good and tasty recipe! I added some other herbs as well as the ones listed. VERY GOOD! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This is addicting! I will likely be making this bread again today as the last loaf only lasted one evening. I made the recipe exactly as written, except I sauteed the onions as I don't really like raw onions. I was able to make this loaf in about hour, making it a great choice when something is needed quickly. This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
Oh dear, really disappointed with this recipe. This does not have the texture of foccaccia bread at all, despite following the instructions as written. The only change I made was adding dried italian herbs to the dough. It's certainly edible, but I was hoping for a nice fluffy foccaccia that could be sliced to use for sandwiches. This barely rose more than a pizza dough, and I did proof my yeast and knead with my KA. Used the right size pan too. Hmmmm... maybe will try again to give it a second chance but so far, not so happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Just made this for the first time, my house smells divine right now! I added some sliced tomatoes, fresh basil,(instead of rosemary), sliced meatballs and mozzarella cheese. I will be making this one again! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Made this for grilled chcicken & veggie sandwiches and my brothers and husband couldn't compliment me enough. My husband said it was a diet breaker by itself. Can it get any better than that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Focaccia Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy flatbread flavored with garlic and herbs.

How to Make Ciabatta Bread

See how to make homemade no-knead Italian ciabatta bread.

Peppy's Pita Bread

See how to make homemade pita bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States