Meyer Lemon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2015
Good pie but way too small for a big family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
This was so delicious and super easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly and my family loved it! I've made it a few times with some minor adjustments to thicken up the filling, I reduced the sugar to 1 cup, added both lemon and lime juice, and a 1/3 cup of shredded coconut. Disappears every time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cgk
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
This has become a standard, and people now give me their extra Meyer lemons hoping for a pie in return. The basic recipe works great, but it's evolved here a bit: two good sized Meyer lemons give the amount of juice needed, and then I add the zest from both of them. I use frozen whole wheat pie shells, and bake for 40-45 minutes until the crust is slightly browned and the filling has formed that lovely slightly-browned sugar crust. This last time, (posted photo) I used two 6" shells, same timing. I've tried adding the cornstarch and could see no difference in the thickening or set up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Moss Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
With the exception of using meyer lemon juice, which I didn't have, I followed this recipe exactly and it was a failure. No preference from the author as to what kind of crust should be used was provided, so I used what I had, which was one of those ready made graham cracker crusts in a 9-inch pan. The pie filling (and I use the term "filling" loosely since it had consistency of water before baking) seemed to have soaked through the graham cracker pie crust during baking, gluing what was left of the pie crust to the aluminum pan. The result was a mere half-inch thick lemon pie that was not serveable because it had to be scraped off of the pan. Given that the resulting pie was so thin, I question the quantities of ingredients. I'm pretty confident that the outcome would not have been different had I used actual meyer lemon juice. What could be salvaged and did not stick to the pan tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Fabulous!! Easy and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly adding a little Meyer Lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
Wonderful! After reading the reviews, I decided it best to add 1 tsp of cornstarch and the zest of 1 meyer lemon. This recipe is a keeper. Tart and sweet. Great way to use my meyer lemons. I didn't have any whipped cream, but next time I'll be sure to top it off with that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Made this PALEO friendly and it was delicious. I made my own coconut flour crust and followed the recipe for the filling with organic ingredients. Then topped it with whipped coconut cream sweetened with a little maple and vanilla. Delicious, low-glycemic and gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
This is one of the BEST lemon pies I've ever eaten or made. I couldn't get Myers lemons but the regular lemons were perfect! The only thing I added was lemon zest. I made it for Thanksgiving and I'll be making it again for Xmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Taunta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I used the juice from regular lemons and one tangerine,to make it like Meyers lemons, since I could not get them. Not sure what happened, but the filling was so thin (like water) that when I poured it into the pie shell, the pastry must have absorbed the liquid. After cooking and setting, the pie was about 1/2 inch deep. The crust was soggy and stuck to the pie pan. I gave it three stars, because despite how horrible it looked, the taste of the filling was delicious. Will have to figure out something else to make with the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
This is a great recipe! I used 1/2 cup of key lime juice instead of lemon juice so it's a key lime pie rather than lemon pie. I also made my own pie crust with a different recipe instead of using a pastry shell (we may not have a pastry shell on hand). But anyways, it is a wonderful recipe. It's a lot of fun to make and eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Grandma's Fresh Blackberry Pie

What's cooking in Portland? Sarah's grandma’s juicy blackberry pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States