Mexina Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
My husband made this salsa to take to a football party today. In addition to the listed ingredients, he threw in a little fresh basil, used 1/2 lemon juice b/c we didn't have enough lime juice, and put in a little vinegar as some reviews suggested. The vinegar made it too strong/sour so he added 1/2 t. sugar. Then it was perfect! He got several compliments on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
I tried this receipe and found it to be awesome. Went to my garden and picked the last of the green tomatoes and made some salsa to can. Added some garlic clove and cumin which made all the difference. Thanks for the receipt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Great salsa but use lime juice to taste,I only use 1/8 cup and was plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
This recipe was very simple to make and turned out a great product. Thanks for sharing it! With a few changes, as noted by other reviewers, it is a five star recipe. I used 1 lb of green tomatoes, which is easier to measure accurately. I did not use the red tomato as I wanted the salsa to remain green. As others recommended, I added garlic (2 large or 3 medium cloves)and 1 tsp of cumin. For an extra spicy version, I added 4 chipotle peppers. These changes made an already good recipe absolutely stellar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I didn't seed either of the jalapenos the first batch I made and woo-hoo was it hot! I made a 2nd batch with only 1 jalapeno, seeded and blended them, and it probably could have been a little hotter. I did add garlic and cumen, cut back on the lime juice and cilantro. GOT RAVE REVIEWS FOR THIS SALSA!!!! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: North Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Added more spice,but was a hit in my family!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sama 24

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This was absolutely fantastic. I needed salsa verde and had green tomatoes in my garden. I won't have to buy salsa all summer thanks to this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Very good and easy. Next time I will add garlic, as recommended by some. It is not the real thing (like you get in a Mexican restaurant) but darn close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I made this today using the last of the summer's tomatoes. No jalapenos in my garden so I used Anaheims instead and I thought it turned out great. Also added some cumin as another review suggested. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I added cumin, which I highly recommend! The family enjoyed this, it was a GREAT way to use up the green tomatoes, and I made extra batches and froze them for later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States