Mexina Salsa Verde Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This was my first attempt at salsa, and it came out great! I boiled the tomatoes whole so the skin peeled right off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
Wow, boiling the tomatoes and jalapenos really brings out the flavor! I can't believe how good this tastes. I didn't have a tomato on hand (which is a rarity!) so I used a small can of stewed tomatoes. It still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Since I had a million green tomatoes and peppers still in the garden and it is going to frost this week, guess what I made today? This is really good. I didn't have any lime juice on hand so I used 2 tsp of apple cider vinegar. I did add about 2 tsp of minced garlic too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PandaCurry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Belview, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I used tomatillos and green tomatoes and no red tomatoes, to keep it all green. If you use red tomatoes also, it will look more brown...not too pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Needed some salsa verde for a recipe I was making and this one fit the bill perfectly. Used tomatillos but included the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
I skipped the onions and tomato, used 1 lb. of tomatillos, and didn't cook anything, just threw in the blender. Was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Succasunna, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
This is very good. I did substitute the Lime juice with Lemon juice and Apple Cider Vinegar because I didn't have any Lime juice on hand. I also added a few cloves of garlic. Alright I just tasted this after it cooled in the fridge and it's amazing. I'm eating some with bite size tortilla chips and it's sooooo good. Had to add another star. Thanks OLESEA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
This salsa was really good however I couldn't give it 5 stars because it REALLY needed 1 clove garlic & 1 tsp cumin. I also felt like 1/2 cup of cilantro was WAY too much & that's saying alot since I love cilantro. 1/4 cup would have been plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Very easy, very good. I had no fresh jalapenos so I just used canned jalapenos and skipped boiling them, although I still boiled the tomatoes. This makes a lot of salsa, so if you aren't sure you may want to try this, you could probably halve the recipe. This was really good in the White Chili I recipe on here instead of the green chilis. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I LOVE green salsa and this is much better than any store-brand. I added just a pinch of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Almond and Parsley Salsa Verde

See how to prepare a lively, super-versatile fresh salsa.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Salsa de Tomatillo

A simple, authentic green salsa with tomatillos, onions, cilantro, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States