Mexican Zucchini Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
Good stuff! I get rave reviews anytime I make this dish. I like use to 8 oz of the cubed cheese and real tomatoes to make the soup a little healthier. I also use vegetable broth to make this vegetarian-friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
This is fast becoming my favorite soup recipe. To cut way down on the sodium I use fresh tomatoes rather than canned, fresh corn off the cob, and one fresh hot pepper with my own sodium free chicken broth. With all fresh veggies from my garden, this soup is both super tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
I thought this soup was pretty good but my husband told me not to make it again. It was way too spicy for my kids. I really did enjoy it though, since i like all thinks super hot i used rotel tomatoes with chili pepers it was the hottest one. i than added some jalapeno peppers. I served in bowls with shredded cheese and a dolop of sour cream. great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clarissa Esther

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
This was sooo delicious. And I don't like soup or vegetables! I chopped up the squash and zucchini pretty small. I used a can of rotel and left out the small can of chilis. I added cumin with the corn because most Mexican dishes have that cumin flavor. I have made this soup several times and I finally figured out how to make it nice and thick like a cheese soup should be. I let the vegetables simmer in broth more like 25 minutes, not 10. Then I put 2 heaping tablespoons of cornstarch in a small cup of water until disolved. Add that to the pot and cook another couple of minutes until it gets thick. Then add the velveeta according to the recipe. I've made this soup with yellow squash and butternut squash, both turned out great. I top this soup with sourcream and crushed tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
My friend and I loved it as is (well we did add some cumin) but both our husbands said it needed meat. So next time we added some shredded chicken breast and it was perfect. Topped with some sour cream and cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Gutierrez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I would give this a 10 if I could....this soup is so simple to make and has amazing flavor in my book....my family also went back for seconds. I did make a few changes....I used a whole 32oz. carton of reduced sodium chicken broth, 1 (10 oz) can of Rotel (mild) tomatoes with chiles, 1 (14.5 oz) can of petite diced tomoates, frozen corn, and 2% milk velveeta......fresh cilantro is key to add at the end for that freshness. Served with a little reduced fat sour cream and tortilla chips. Excellent flavors, I did use both green and yellow squash....love this will make again soon. Thanks!...And thanks to Catlin for suggesting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I changed this recipe slightly to fit what I had on hand. I did not have Mexican stewed tomatoes so I used a can of Ro-tel and left out the 4.5 oz can of green chilies. I also added a little bit more cheese. It turned out great. This is a nice way to serve up squash and zucchini. My oldest son liked his with crushed tortilla chips and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
I made this recipe for a cooking project in school, following it exactly as written, and I am definitely going to make it again! This soup was delicious and had the perfect amount of spice. I usually don't like spicy foods, but I absolutely loved this recipe. I am eagerly awaiting the next time I am able to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Ashley

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
My family loved this recipe served with tortilla chips. I was disappointed to discover how high the sodium content is for this recipe. I will serve this again if I can figure out substitutions to bring the sodium down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I did add/modify, but this is a soup that is VERY adaptable. I added 32oz box of chicken broth and instead of the stewed tomatoes, I added 2 cans of Rotel and omitted the chiles. I had already shredded all of my zucchini for baking, so I added about 3 cups of shredded zucchini and a can of black beans (could have added 2 but only had one on had) for added protein. Instead of processed cheese (which would have melted better) I used shredded mexican cheese (about 4 cups), which did clump up some, but I still think it tasted great. Lastly, I omitted the cilantro since I didn't have it on hand. I LOVED this for our first fall day rainy weather soup!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRIAM01

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weirton, West Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States