Mexican Zucchini Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
This soup is amazing. I would eat it everyday if possible. The only things I did different were using about 15 oz of regular rotel instead of the mexican-stewed tomatoes and I used 16 oz of the cheese. I also added some thickener at the end because it was too thin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aunt Ree

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Love this soup! I used a hand blender to puree it before adding the cheese (which I melted in the microwave w/ a bit of milk). We like a smooth soup and it was a great way to hide the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Oh, this was FANTASTIC! I used 3 zucchini's ( prefer zucchini over yellow squash any day) and I used chipolte corn and I didn't have any processed cheese so I used a jar of Ragu cheese and I added some cumin. Came out SOOOOO good. I would recommed this to anybody.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
It was ok. My husband and I both thought it was a little too cheesy. I might try this again some other time; maybe I just wasn't in the right frame of mind to have it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Wow, this is a great soup! I didn't have Velveeta, so I used several slices of American cheese and thickened it up with some corn starch mixed with milk. Probably not as cheesy as the original recipe, but still quite tasty! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by disesther

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
I would give this a 10 if I could....this soup is so simple to make and has amazing flavor in my book....my family also went back for seconds. I did make a few changes....I used a whole 32oz. carton of reduced sodium chicken broth, 1 (10 oz) can of Rotel (mild) tomatoes with chiles, 1 (14.5 oz) can of petite diced tomoates, frozen corn, and 2% milk velveeta......fresh cilantro is key to add at the end for that freshness. Served with a little reduced fat sour cream and tortilla chips. Excellent flavors, I did use both green and yellow squash....love this will make again soon. Thanks!...And thanks to Catlin for suggesting this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Catlin
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This is my favorite soup! I have made it several times and have yet to be disappointed. I do make a couple changes, but nothing major. I use a can of rotel instead of the stewed tomatoes and I leave out the green chiles. I like to add a little white rice to my bowl before adding the soup. Fabulous flavor. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
Awesome soup! I made a few minor changes, simply to match my pantry. Had no yellow squash so used only zucchini. Used only regular canned diced tomatoes & a full-sized can of corn. I ordinarily choose not to use processed cheese food but I also know that regular cheddar cheese would be too oily & wouldn't blend properly, so I used a 16 oz jar of salsa con queso. I also used just a small amount of cumin because it just adds the right amount of heat. It was more a soup consistency than a chowder consistency, which I really liked. I could eat the entire pot! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Yum! This was great and really easy to make. I used Rotel for the tomatoes and green chilis. It had some heat which was great for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This soup was great! My husband loved it! I tried it with regular cheddar cheese, and it is still good, but it kind of creates a gooey mess that gets stuck to your spoon. I suggest the processed cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States