Mexican Zucchini Cheese Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I have made this twice in the last two days! I substituted vegetable broth and left out the cilantro, but those are the only changes I made. I am a Velveeta hater, but in this recipe, it just works. This is an excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ERINBOW

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Everyone loved..I did change it a bit though.Instead of canned corn, tomatoes and chili peppers, I used fresh (all but the corn was from my own garden!)I used chicken bullion(what I had) and used only 8 oz of the velveeta and 4 oz of sharp cheddar. I will probably be making many times more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
I added chicken and A LOT of cumin. This recipe definitely needs more spice. In addition to cumin, I also added chili powder and some fajita seasoning. I give it 3 stars as written, 5 stars with added seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neva Hurlbut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
Yummy! I didn't have the yellow squash so I used shredded hash browns which really went well in it. Next time I think I will cut back on the oregano, and maybe add some chicken. Great recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Verde Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
Very good. Nice way to use up those summer squash. I used yellow squash, a can of rotel and shredded taco cheese because that is what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I liked this soup. I thought it had nice flavor and was easy to throw together. My husband liked it, but I think he is always hesitant to love something that doesn't contain meat. It was a nice change and more along my tastes than the hubby.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
My husband and I thought this was a very tastey soup. I made it as written. The broth was thinner than I anticpated and I felt the cilantro was overpowering. I ate it again on day 2 and the cilantro mellowed out and the overall flavor was very good. I enjoy spicy foods and considered substituting Rotel, as other reviewers mentioned, but stuck to the recipe. I am glad I prepared this as written because with the cilantro and added spice, I think it would have masked the wonderful flavors of the vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Not sure what I did wrong but the texture of this soup was weird.... I only ate a small bowl and will probably throw the rest of it away. The other pictures looked soo good and it had really good reviews, so not sure if it's something that I did wrong not sure how that would have happened if I followed recipe and directions exactly...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
Great way to use zucchini! We'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelaW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
Very good dish served with chips. My first bowl I thought it was good, but not very impressed - then realized I forgot to add the corn. I quickly added it and let it simmer another 5-10 minutes. Now I was very pleased. Later a fried boneless chicken pieces and this was extremely good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make quick-and-easy cheese soup with broccoli.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Slow Cooker Zucchini Soup

A hearty soup with Italian sausage and vegetables made in a slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States