Mexican White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2005
I know how to make it, and it doesn't contain all of these ingredients. I'm not sure who came up with this recipe but it's incorrect. The restaurant employees try to keep it a big secret, but I found out. It took a while, though... This recipe was not very good when I tried it a couple of months ago...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
You MUST, MUST add ranch dressing.. It wont taste anything like the mexican white sauce without it! Also, a dash of cayenne if you want that little bit of spicyness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
I thought I knew Mexican foods pretty well living in So. Ca my whole life, but this sauce was unknown to me and intrigued me. I made it to see if we could use it as a topper in tacos. We ended up dipping tortilla chips before dinner. Almost as good as guacamole. Thanks for a new and tasty recipe Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was a great base recipe! I followed some of the other reviewers advice. I used 1 cup Miracle Whip, 1 cup sour cream, and only put in 1/2 cup milk (I like it a little thicker). I also added in addition to the other ingredients a heaping tbls of ranch dressing, a 1/2 tsp paprika and onion salt, 1/4 tsp cayanne pepper, and doubled the red pepper flakes. It was very good! I am a big fan of the white sauce in my fav VA Beach Mexican joint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
DELICIOUS! It was a huge success when I used one cup Miracle Whip and one cup sour cream (low fat) with double the amount of red pepper flakes and a little onion powder and paprika.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
I have been looking for this recipe for a long time! It is a great mexican dip to have with a jumbo margarita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
You have no idea howlong I have been looking for this recipe. It tasted so authentic and was super easy to make. I no longer serve salsa with my tortilla chips at parties. Everyone loves this dip more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
I cannot believe that more people have not tried this recipe. This board needs to put this recipe up as a great party/get together snack! It is wonderful and truly tastes just like that in mexican restaurants...Im sure its the same stuff. It is so easy and you should let it sit a couple hours so the flavors blend. Making it today for a beach/girlfriend get together! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
I followed the recipe exactly, but after two hours it still just tasted like Miracle Whip to me, with a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I've been looking for this recipe for months!! My husband & kids (even the son, who's a bit of a picky eater) LOVE it!! I added a bit more crushed red pepper (we like a bit of kick). Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYD2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States