Mexican White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
This was terrible! I let it sit overnight and it still had no flavor. I added a little tomato sauce and a lot more garlic powder, cumin and oregano to try to salvage it, but it's still only passable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
This was wonderful! My family thre a Mexican fiesta for close to 20 people and this dip was a hit. It was easy and tasty! I did use a bit less milk but the overall recipie is great! Thanks a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
This recipe was OK but not what I was hoping for. I've been to many different Mexican restaurants that had the white sauce but this recipe didn't taste like the Mexican kind. The cumin and the oregano were way off and I never noticed a garlic taste in the restaurant white sauce. Although it tasted OK it's still not the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2003
I've been looking for this recipe for months!! My husband & kids (even the son, who's a bit of a picky eater) LOVE it!! I added a bit more crushed red pepper (we like a bit of kick). Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHYD2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2003
I thought I knew Mexican foods pretty well living in So. Ca my whole life, but this sauce was unknown to me and intrigued me. I made it to see if we could use it as a topper in tacos. We ended up dipping tortilla chips before dinner. Almost as good as guacamole. Thanks for a new and tasty recipe Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2003
I followed the recipe exactly, but after two hours it still just tasted like Miracle Whip to me, with a little spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
You have no idea howlong I have been looking for this recipe. It tasted so authentic and was super easy to make. I no longer serve salsa with my tortilla chips at parties. Everyone loves this dip more!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
I cannot believe that more people have not tried this recipe. This board needs to put this recipe up as a great party/get together snack! It is wonderful and truly tastes just like that in mexican restaurants...Im sure its the same stuff. It is so easy and you should let it sit a couple hours so the flavors blend. Making it today for a beach/girlfriend get together! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAWGODESSS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA
Living In: Prince George, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
I have been looking for this recipe for a long time! It is a great mexican dip to have with a jumbo margarita!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-59 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States