Mexican White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Where I come from this is exactly like in the restaraunt! However, my recommendation is to let it sit for at least 12 hours, 24 made it better. The longer it sits the more flavorful it becomes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
OMG!!! It's just like the sauce in our favorite VA Beach, VA mexican restaurant! I can not belive the base is Miracle Whip (which my husband and I both hate.) This is dead on the money...thanks, All Recipes & JENJONESY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
After havng tried this on my last trip to VA I became on a mission to find the recipe and I have. I did have to tweak it a little as my boyfriend, who is part Mexican, and I felt the crushed red pepper flakes were to over powering but after the tweaks it was perfect. My brother and sister-in-law wouldn't stop eatting it. I was actually told I was making it for my niece's birthday party. My sister-in-law liked it so much she was pouring in on her rice during dinner. Definetly plan on making this a lot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOE77TB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bergenfield, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Was really looking forward to making and enjoying this dip/sauce. Was SEVERELY disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly. Not one person in my family would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorrie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Love this dip! Close as i can find to The sauce in Mexican Restaurant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Just like the white sauce you get in Mexican restaurants in Hampton Roads, Virginia. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Mmmm! Delicious! The only reason I go to Mexican restaurants is for the white sauce. In Virginia every mexican place has white sauce, but my husband and I moved across the country and are sad to never have white sauce to dip in! So I searched and found this recipe. It is delish! I have made it twice, the last time I halved all the spices (except for the crushed red pepper) because I found it would leave a strong aftertaste with the full amounts. My husband and I both agree this tastes exactly like the restaurant white sauce... if not better! Thank you for this recipe, I'll be making this frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
I don't know where some reviewers went wrong with this recipe, but i absolutely loved it! I made it for some co-workers at my job who thought it tasted just like the white dip at one of the best mexican restaurants in Virginia Beach. I will make this all the time now. I feel like I cracked the secret code!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
THIS WAS DISGUISTING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Just like my favorite mexican joint here in Virginia Beach!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tito Sheindlin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodward, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States