Mexican White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I've had Mexican white dip with tortilla chips in both Hampton Roads, Va. and in Maryland. This is definitely not it. Too much oregano (it's supposed to be Mexican, not Italian!) and the restaurant white dips I've had are thicker and very white - thus the second time I made this (trying to get it closer to the restaurants' versions), I reduced the milk to 1/4 cup, omitted the cumin which the very-white restaurant versions obviously don't have, and reduced the oregano to 1 tsp. The first version was far too spicy hot so I reduced the red pepper flakes down to 1 tsp. My 2nd version was much better but still not like the restaurants' dip. The Miracle Whip flavor is too intense, so in my next attempt I'm going to use 1 cup Miracle Whip and 1 cup sour cream to see if that helps. (I love the restaurant version and really want to get the recipe as similar as possible.) The recipe was a starting point but needs more work. This recipe makes a ton so you may wish to half it. It can be served with tortilla chips or small pretzel squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I made this recipe, and it still had slight after taste of miracle whip, so I stirred in 1/2 cup of sour cream and it's PERFECT. I would say this is 95% close to the white sauce at Mia Casita and other Hampton Roads Mexican places. I love it. Thanks for posting it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
AWSOME!!!!! I must say it is even better that the sauce we get in the resturant. I made this recipe and then went to the Mexican resturant a few days later and there's no comparison. It's very eay to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This recipe was a great jumping off point. It was too salad dressing sweet tasting for us. I substituted plain greek yogurt for the salad dressing and milk plus added a few spoonfuls of sour cream and it turns out great w/out the sweetness of the salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
It tasted nothing like I have had, was disappointed. Like another reviewer stated, it tasted like doctored Miracle Whip. The sauce I am familiar with is on the sweet side and for me it compliments the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Ill give it five for getting me so close to it . A bit too much Cumin IMO . I will try with a bit of blue cheese in the future . If you live in Hampton Roads this is the white sauce you've been wondering how to make for years now .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
All our favorite Mexican restaurants in Virginia serve a version of this white sauce. Each restaurant makes it slightly differently. This recipe is *close*, but not exactly right. I can't put my finger on it, and may have to resort to begging/bribing a waiter to spill the beans. Clearly, whatever is in it can't be expensive or difficult to find, or they wouldn't all be serving it...such a mystery!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KMWILSON98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dixon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This was a great base recipe! I followed some of the other reviewers advice. I used 1 cup Miracle Whip, 1 cup sour cream, and only put in 1/2 cup milk (I like it a little thicker). I also added in addition to the other ingredients a heaping tbls of ranch dressing, a 1/2 tsp paprika and onion salt, 1/4 tsp cayanne pepper, and doubled the red pepper flakes. It was very good! I am a big fan of the white sauce in my fav VA Beach Mexican joint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
This is the recipe I have been looking for!! To get rid of the heavy miracle whip taste, try using light miracle whip. Also, we substituted cayenne pepper for the crushed red peppers after making the recipe with the red peppers the first time. It blends so much better!! When it came to the cumin, we added about a teaspoon and 1/2 to our taste. This is a great a recipe that my family loves!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOOREMONROE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
Seriously, tastes just like it! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NicoleWard
Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

One Skillet Mexican Quinoa

One skillet meal full of Mexican-inspired ingredients and flavors.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States