Mexican White Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I used light sour cream 16oz with a packet of ranch dip. Then add the ingredients I added one lime all the juice and a added about 1/4 cup of cilantro. Refergrate for 30 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robert Alexander

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
I like this but next time I'll replace some of the Miracle Whip with sour cream as other reviewers suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
This recipe, while fine as a dip, is not what they serve in the restaurants. I know this, because I've made it. They use a certain kind of cheese, and a pepper blend to make it spicy. This is ok for a substitute, but it isn't quite the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This recipe was awful. Made according to posted recipe without any alterations. YUCK!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
This is the white ranch-y sort of dip some Mexican restaurants serve with chips & salsa. And this recipe is SPOT ON. I was craving this dip so bad and wanted to go to our local Mexican restaurant to get it, but couldn't convince hubby of a night out. Well I found this recipe and totally fixed my craving. Will definitely make this again. I scaled down the recipe to 12 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
I lived in Virginia Beach most of my life and I moved away last year and I haven't been able to find this at any other Mexican place around. Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This recipe didn't work for me. I live in Virginia Beach and love the white sauce at Guadalajara. I don't know the exact recipe but it's not like the one above. Waiter said it includes ranch dressing, cayenne pepper, sour cream, and I think garlic and red pepper flakes. Does anybody know for sure?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I've had Mexican white dip with tortilla chips in both Hampton Roads, Va. and in Maryland. This is definitely not it. Too much oregano (it's supposed to be Mexican, not Italian!) and the restaurant white dips I've had are thicker and very white - thus the second time I made this (trying to get it closer to the restaurants' versions), I reduced the milk to 1/4 cup, omitted the cumin which the very-white restaurant versions obviously don't have, and reduced the oregano to 1 tsp. The first version was far too spicy hot so I reduced the red pepper flakes down to 1 tsp. My 2nd version was much better but still not like the restaurants' dip. The Miracle Whip flavor is too intense, so in my next attempt I'm going to use 1 cup Miracle Whip and 1 cup sour cream to see if that helps. (I love the restaurant version and really want to get the recipe as similar as possible.) The recipe was a starting point but needs more work. This recipe makes a ton so you may wish to half it. It can be served with tortilla chips or small pretzel squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I made this recipe, and it still had slight after taste of miracle whip, so I stirred in 1/2 cup of sour cream and it's PERFECT. I would say this is 95% close to the white sauce at Mia Casita and other Hampton Roads Mexican places. I love it. Thanks for posting it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
AWSOME!!!!! I must say it is even better that the sauce we get in the resturant. I made this recipe and then went to the Mexican resturant a few days later and there's no comparison. It's very eay to make and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ten Minute Enchilada Sauce

See how to make a speedy enchilada sauce with authentic flavor.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Javi’s Really Real Mexican Ceviche

See how to make spicy, citrusy shrimp and scallop ceviche, Mexican-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States