Mexican White Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Yoly
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
I followed the recipe and found my rice to be on the creamy side. If I make this again, I will season it with salt and pepper and skip the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yoly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Monica, California, USA
Living In: Downey, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
This was very good. I didn't have the poblano pepper so I subbed with a little crushed red pepper. Served with ground beef enchiladas II. I would make this again but with the poblano pepper. The milk Wss a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I made this delicious rice recipe! thank you for sharing! But is better with less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
This Rice has become our go-to side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by monalisa_09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by agonza
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I loved this! I changed it a little based on the ingredients I had available. I skipped the onion and the milk, used 2 cups of water and added one bay leaf and some parsley. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
My only complaint on this was it made a mess of my pot. I cooked it on low, because that's what work for rice on my range. I only had skim milk so used it for the whole milk and water. I didn't find it creamy like others, so I don't think you'll get that if you fat free milk like I did. I also used frozen peas and corn and added them after sauteing the other veggies. That was simply for preference, we like the texture better that way. There isn't really any seasoning in this but it would be easy to add any number of herbs/spices to fit it to your meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Really few Mexican groups make the rice so, it's nice it find a legitimate recipe for it on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
We loved it! So delicious. I used frozen 'roasted' corn from Trader Joes that enriched the flavor even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
Very easy to make and it was delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is not bad, but I must say - Mexicans do NOT cook like this, so really it's not fair to call this "Mexican rice." What you want to do is rinse the rice, then sautee it in some vegetable or olive oil until it starts to become brown. Add the vegetables (Try before the rice gets too brown, so it doesn't burn), and you can use water and chicken stock / broth, one or the other or both, if you wish. Milk is not used to make savory rices, it makes it sticky. Save the milk for when you make arroz con leche. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States