Mexican White Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I was reading some of the reviews, and I notice some were expecting a fluffy Mexican rice. Well coming from a Mexican I cook rice about twice a week. So what u want to do is, rince your rice under water till water goes clear, then you want to sauté the RICE first! Juat make sure u don't let it get brown. Remember this is white rice... Before it beggings to turn light golden brown you can add your vegt. And everything else. and yes milk will make it sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is very good rice, I was a little unsure about the milk. However it made the rice very creamy and delicious! Nice change for us. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Standard operating procedure when cooking white rice is 2 cups liquid for every cup of rice. I think 1 cup of water was left out by mistake in the recipe. The rice came out a little creamier than what my family likes but the flavor was spot-on and I appreciated all the veggies in it. Next time I will eliminate the milk and use 2 cups of water and 1/2 teaspoon of Adobo Seasoning Salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Loved this! Creamy, colorful and tasty, this was a welcome alternative to the traditional tomato-based Mexican rice. Hubs and I are not big fans of cooked carrots, but because I wanted the color it lends, I substituted orange bell pepper instead. It, along with the poblano peppers, peas and corn, made this "confetti" rice very visually appealing. I also gave the rice a pinch of saffron for added color and flavor, tho' it wasn't necessary and certainly no criticism of the recipe. A great accompaniment to our Grilled Tequila-Lime Shrimp and Easy Grilled Zucchini, both recipes also from this site. I would make this again in a heart beat. My only criticism is that it needs salt and pepper, big time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I thought the flavor was very nice. I also liked all the veggies the recipe calls for. HOWEVER my only complaint is that it wasn't fluffy like i would imagine Mexican rice should be. I think maybe substituting more water for the milk may do the trick. If it came out fluffy and not so 'wet' this would be amazing. I will definitely be making this again though, just eliminate the milk and see if that helps. Thanx for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2013
This is not bad, but I must say - Mexicans do NOT cook like this, so really it's not fair to call this "Mexican rice." What you want to do is rinse the rice, then sautee it in some vegetable or olive oil until it starts to become brown. Add the vegetables (Try before the rice gets too brown, so it doesn't burn), and you can use water and chicken stock / broth, one or the other or both, if you wish. Milk is not used to make savory rices, it makes it sticky. Save the milk for when you make arroz con leche. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Used frozen peas and carrots and a jalapeno pepper in place of the poblano. Turned out nicely, although I didn't use the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
All of my picky eaters loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Very good. I was short on liquid - rice adhered to side of pan; next time I'll add a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
KitchenDiva- There is plenty of liquid for the recipe. 1 cup water and 1 cup milk, which follows general procedures. This rice turned out well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States