Mexican White Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by SB
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
This is very good rice, I was a little unsure about the milk. However it made the rice very creamy and delicious! Nice change for us. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
I thought the flavor was very nice. I also liked all the veggies the recipe calls for. HOWEVER my only complaint is that it wasn't fluffy like i would imagine Mexican rice should be. I think maybe substituting more water for the milk may do the trick. If it came out fluffy and not so 'wet' this would be amazing. I will definitely be making this again though, just eliminate the milk and see if that helps. Thanx for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
Very good. I was short on liquid - rice adhered to side of pan; next time I'll add a little more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Standard operating procedure when cooking white rice is 2 cups liquid for every cup of rice. I think 1 cup of water was left out by mistake in the recipe. The rice came out a little creamier than what my family likes but the flavor was spot-on and I appreciated all the veggies in it. Next time I will eliminate the milk and use 2 cups of water and 1/2 teaspoon of Adobo Seasoning Salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I was reading some of the reviews, and I notice some were expecting a fluffy Mexican rice. Well coming from a Mexican I cook rice about twice a week. So what u want to do is, rince your rice under water till water goes clear, then you want to sauté the RICE first! Juat make sure u don't let it get brown. Remember this is white rice... Before it beggings to turn light golden brown you can add your vegt. And everything else. and yes milk will make it sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
All of my picky eaters loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Used frozen peas and carrots and a jalapeno pepper in place of the poblano. Turned out nicely, although I didn't use the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Ate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Turned out pretty well. Didn't have a problem with it sticking or being "creamy". Lacked a little in flavor though, so may add more spices next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERIEO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Goddard, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as directed. It was ok, but was a little dry. I don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States