Mexican White Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
awsome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This is great rice! I did make some changes which might be kind of cheating but I used Minute Rice (sorry!), diced habanero and two diced poblano peppers. I followed the liquid exactly and used two cups of the rice. I added the veggies as listed and a little seasoning salt at the end. This was super tasty and a great side dish. Maybe add a little protein and make it a main dish. The rice was tender, only slightly creamy and a little spicy. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
KitchenDiva- There is plenty of liquid for the recipe. 1 cup water and 1 cup milk, which follows general procedures. This rice turned out well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This recipe was extremely simple, and I will definitely use it again. Sauted all of my vegetables first, then added the rice to toast before adding liquids. Opted to add in some additional spices (paprika, chipotle, garlic, mexican oregano, ancho chilis) to give it a kick, and it really balanced well with the sweetness of the carrots, peas, and corn. I'm not exactly sure if the addition of milk added something extra or not...I honestly did not notice a taste, texture, or consistency difference from when I only use chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by INTELLIBLONDE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as directed. It was ok, but was a little dry. I don't think I will be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Turned out pretty well. Didn't have a problem with it sticking or being "creamy". Lacked a little in flavor though, so may add more spices next time. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERIEO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, Kansas, USA
Living In: Goddard, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Ate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amandak23k
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Used frozen peas and carrots and a jalapeno pepper in place of the poblano. Turned out nicely, although I didn't use the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandak23k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
All of my picky eaters loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I was reading some of the reviews, and I notice some were expecting a fluffy Mexican rice. Well coming from a Mexican I cook rice about twice a week. So what u want to do is, rince your rice under water till water goes clear, then you want to sauté the RICE first! Juat make sure u don't let it get brown. Remember this is white rice... Before it beggings to turn light golden brown you can add your vegt. And everything else. and yes milk will make it sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States