Mexican White Cheese Dip/Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Oh my gosh! I signed up for an account just so I could post on this recipe. GREAT. I did need to add a little more milk as I didn't want it quite that thick, but all the other measurements are perfect. Please remember to heat the milk and butter first, LOW heat, never more than low heat, and add the cheese little at a time letting it melt before adding more. It takes time. Shredding the cheese instead of cubing it makes it melt better in my opinion. And you really do need to use Land O Lakes white American cheese from your deli. If you've ever made fondue, you know how to slowly melt the cheese. This tastes awesome. love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Barnett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Let me start by saying that I live in an area where the closest thing we have to authentic Mexican cuisine is our local Tequilas Restaurant. One of my favorite things there is Nachos Fajitas Beef. This dish includes a white cheese sauce I absolutely love. I have wanted to try recreating the sauce for some time now. I recently started using all recipes.com, and I have found many excellent recipies! I came across this recipe for the cheese sauce/dip and decided I would give it a try. I truly do like how it turned out! I used land o' lakes white american cheese (purchased at walmart) and it melted perfectly. I made two variations from the recipe. The first being that I could not find green chilies, so I substituted a 7oz. can of pickled jalapeños diced, and 1oz. of juice from same can. The heat level was perfect for my tastes. Secondly, I used about 1 1/2 cups milk as the dip was too thick to suit me. The end result was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian Sherrod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This was really great! I added a little pickled jalepeno with some juice and left the butter out. My husband loved it! I will be making this again soon for when our friends are over. Thank you! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
I make a very similar version of this recipe. You have to use deli sliced american cheese such as Land o lakes or kraft "Deli" american. Individual "singles" slices do not work. Also i warm it very slowly and only add milk and diced jalapenos. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
i couldn't find white american cheese cubed so i bought velveeta and it was still soooo good! i'm eating it now and i love love love it! will definitely be making this again! thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle Paige

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
As mentioned by some other reviewers, the seasoning proportions of the recipe are terrible. While this is the correct cheese to use for white queso dip and the consistency comes out good, the seasoning is extremely out of balance. The flavor of cumin is so strong that you don't realize at first that there is also way too much garlic. If you are looking for the runny white queso dip with green chili/jalapeno flavor, this is not the recipe you want--keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
This is really good! I just finished making it a day ahead of my party. I am planning on warming it slowly in a mini-slow cooker. I did not measure my milk so it is a little thin - I am planning on adding more cheese to thicken it more. I will also add some Rotel tomatoes and chilis when I reheat. Getting the right cheese makes all the difference! I purchased my white American cheese at the deli counter in Kroger sliced in 1/2 inch pieces for cubing. this is WAY better than Velveeta dip or the queso blanco in a jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
For quick snack, I use microwave to cook it and mix in rotel. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Pretty good, I burnt the bottom because I was trying to go too fast and do too many things at the same time but good flavor. Will make again. Caution it cooks quickly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktlynn01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I've used this recipe many times and it's always great. I like my sauce like they make it in the midwest Tex-Mex cafes. I leave out the garlic and onion powders. On occasion, I may add a small amount of cumin or cayenne, but not as much as the recipe calls for. White american is hard to find in the midwest but no other cheese will work. I first found it at H-E-B grocery stores in south Texas (San antonio and the Rio Grande valley). I'm asking my Kroger manager to find it and stock it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

White Cheese Chicken Lasagna

See how to make a top-rated 3-cheese white lasagna.

Jalapeno Popper Grilled Cheese Sandwich

See how to make grilled cheese sandwiches with a cheesy, creamy jalapeno filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States