Mexican Wedding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2002
This recipe is so easy. The only problem is the time you have to wait for the dough to chill. But they're great cookies so it's worth the wait. I've gotten nothing but praise for the cookies I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
This was my first shot at making wedding cookies. Although I used pecans instead of almond, these were/are excellent!! I even received raved review from the girls I work with. Thank you for such a yummy recipe. I have to say that I have had wedding cookies in the past that were awful. This is the perfect recipe! Merry Christmas! I made these again this year and they were still excellent. I used pecans and walnut together and I only baked them for 8-10 minutes maybe because my cookies were smaller. These are addicting!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
306 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Recipe turned out great!! My Mom said they tasted like my Great Grandma Mary's!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2001
I love this cookie recipe. It is quick and simple, and great for any occasion. I used 3/4 c. chopped pecans (the small package of chopped pecans found in the cake mix aisle at the grocery store) instead of almonds. I only chilled my cookie dough 1 1/2 hrs. They were delicious! They had great flavor and did not crumble or fall apart when baked. This is an overall great cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
473 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
Very tasty and they were perfect as freeze-aheads for the holidays. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2005
this recipe is so easy to make and they were great, my family loved them. will use this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2001
These are great cookies. Use butter instead of margarine for richness and I used ground up pecans instead of almonds and got raves from a co-worker who stood over the plate and ate them all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2003
I truly adore these cookies, which I call "tea cookies" more than I call them mexican wedding cookies. They are delicious with coffee or tea, and I normally replace the almonds with walnuts or peacans. I find the flavor to be better. These "butterball" cookies are excellent, and everyone who has tried them, loves them! You can add little accents like perhap a little bit of lemond rind or lemon extract to the dough to flavor it differently. I also like to roll the balls in the sugar when they are warm. It makes a nice icing like consistancy.. mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mount Laurel, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Delicious & Easy! Sent some to a service member overseas, and they arrived intact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
I used powdered sugar instead..gives a very light texture. I also tried it w/ one t vanilla and one t almond extract and turned out very nicely. This essentially turns it into my childhood traditional family Christmas cookie, pecan sandies. They are our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 1-10 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States