Mexican Wedding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was my first time making these and I'm very pleased with the end results. I tried making the crescent version but it was hard to shape the soft dough so the were a little odd shaped but no matter. I rolled the cookies when they were warm and the powered sugar melted which gave it more sticking power when I rolled them a second time. A few cookies just exploded into crumbles while rolling but most of them made it intact. I loved the flavor and was disappointed when my party finished off the last one before I could hide some for myself. I grounded up walnuts and really liked the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Woah, what can i say, my mom and i made this and let me tell you that it is great! The only thing that we changed was the almonds with pecans and i do not thiink that we kept it in the fridge for 3 hours, maybe i am guestimating about 1 an a half hour or 2 hours.....Well again thank you for the recipe, i am planning on making more todayy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These cookies are very easy to make and melt in your mouth! The traditional recipe calls for almonds, but I also like to use finely chopped walnuts or pecans because of their softer texture. The secret to keeping the powdered sugar on while not having to use a whole box of powdered sugar is to dredge the cookies the first time while still slightly warm, so the powdered sugar gets melted and is a bit "tacky." Then allow them to cool fully, then re-roll them in powdered sugar. They will cover completely and look beautiful, and the sugar will stay on! For Christmas, I add a final light dusting in red or green sugar sprinkles over the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Made some revisions: used powdered sugar in place of regular sugar and used chopped walnut because thats what I had in the house. Tasted awesome - but the cookie crumbled & fell apart when trying to roll.. Not sure if I did something wrong..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
these cookies are HEAVENLY ! My only regret is that I didn't double or triple the recipe !! I only had 3/4 cup almonds and used about 1/4 cup of walnuts. I had started the oven timer on the low end of the recommended baking time and had to add 3 minutes to the time (I made them big), I end up making about 30 of these. YUM, can't wait to go to the Christmas Party today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My mother made cookies very similar to these for years. I used powdered sugar instead of regular sugar (as someone else suggested), chopped pecans instead of almonds, and almond extract instead of vanilla. There was no need to chill the dough before baking. The cookies were pretty cool when I rolled them in powdered sugar, and the sugar stuck just fine. If you roll them in sugar too soon, the cookies will crumble. Also, I know from experience, these cookies freeze well. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Tip for getting the confectioners suger to stick: Roll the cookies when they are warm and the roll them in the sugar again once they cool off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I may sound like Paula Deen but don't short the taste of the recipe with anything but REAL BUTTER.. You can also use this recipe for a great cookie dough pie crust, Just spread dough in pie pan before chilling in the fridge...Cold dough makes the crust flake. This recipe will make 2 pies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I first made these in high school in 1957. We used chopped cashews and rolled them into small balls about 1" in diameter. As far as whether to coat them with powdered sugar when warm or when cooled, we did both! We rolled them while warm then let them cool and rolled them again. These are one of my faVORITE COOKIES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mabel Helmbold McKeel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States