Mexican Wedding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Good, but tasted a bit dry to me, although I took them to a Cinco de Mayo party and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Excellent, excellent, excellent! Even my picky 5 year old gobbles these up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I did the all confectioner's sugar combo, no white sugar. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lil Mermaid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Great cookies! Used confectioners sugar instead of regular sugar to give this a crumbly shortbread like texture. We prefer pecans better than almonds for this type of cookies. With such few ingredients, you must use a quality grade butter such as AA or A. This is really good but I only gave it a four because it wasn't quite like the one I tasted in San Diego, CA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Not so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
This was my first time making these and I'm very pleased with the end results. I tried making the crescent version but it was hard to shape the soft dough so the were a little odd shaped but no matter. I rolled the cookies when they were warm and the powered sugar melted which gave it more sticking power when I rolled them a second time. A few cookies just exploded into crumbles while rolling but most of them made it intact. I loved the flavor and was disappointed when my party finished off the last one before I could hide some for myself. I grounded up walnuts and really liked the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Woah, what can i say, my mom and i made this and let me tell you that it is great! The only thing that we changed was the almonds with pecans and i do not thiink that we kept it in the fridge for 3 hours, maybe i am guestimating about 1 an a half hour or 2 hours.....Well again thank you for the recipe, i am planning on making more todayy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These cookies are very easy to make and melt in your mouth! The traditional recipe calls for almonds, but I also like to use finely chopped walnuts or pecans because of their softer texture. The secret to keeping the powdered sugar on while not having to use a whole box of powdered sugar is to dredge the cookies the first time while still slightly warm, so the powdered sugar gets melted and is a bit "tacky." Then allow them to cool fully, then re-roll them in powdered sugar. They will cover completely and look beautiful, and the sugar will stay on! For Christmas, I add a final light dusting in red or green sugar sprinkles over the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Made some revisions: used powdered sugar in place of regular sugar and used chopped walnut because thats what I had in the house. Tasted awesome - but the cookie crumbled & fell apart when trying to roll.. Not sure if I did something wrong..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
these cookies are HEAVENLY ! My only regret is that I didn't double or triple the recipe !! I only had 3/4 cup almonds and used about 1/4 cup of walnuts. I had started the oven timer on the low end of the recommended baking time and had to add 3 minutes to the time (I made them big), I end up making about 30 of these. YUM, can't wait to go to the Christmas Party today!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States