Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I like this recipe b/c it was not only quite tasty but it was extremely easy! I used almond extract instead of vanilla and I used and about 1/2 the pecans it called for and the other half were almonds (in which I toasted both before crushing them.) I crushed them to a sandy texture for better flavor. Through trial and error, I discovered that the balls should be about the width of a nickel, no bigger than a quarter, for them to bake for 10 min. I tried larger ones, baked them longer, but I couldn't get them to bake evenly. Be sure that they are completely cool before rolling them in the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is the exact same recipe my friend has in his cookbook at home (which we have made many times together around the holidays to give out to friends). One tip, the finer you ground the nuts the better it tastes! I've had them with chunky nuts and with finely ground nuts, and I have to say the finely ground nuts are the way to go. Also, since these cookies easily come together in a ball shape, we've put toffee, butterscotch, and sometimes chocolate in the middle. All you need to do is take three or four chips (of whatever you prefer), flatten out the cookie in your hand, place the chips in the middle, and fold the dough over into a ball shape and bake. This makes it extra tastey and special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
114 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Photo by thecookiejar
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Ive been making these cookies for the longest time and always get raves. I reckon, 100g of walnuts is more than sufficient- too much nuts will result in the cookie breaking up more easily. Use lightly salted butter n omit the confectionary sugar in the batter. The mildly salted cookie and confectionary sugar coating is a perfect marriage of flavours! The trick to making these cookies melt in ur mouth is to avoid overbeating it and handling it as little as possible. After beating the butter (make sure it's not too soft, rather, slightly firm) with vanilla, add in the flour n beat till just blended/mixture forms a lump. Very easy and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecookiejar

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This is exactly what I was looking for. Thanks! Keep in mind that there is no salt in this recipe, so if you use unsalted butter (which I usually do) you'll need to add a couple pinches. I made the dough about a week ahead of time (refrigerated) and they came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2000
I made this for my daughters 5th grade class, they were having a mexican party,I wasn't sure if the kids would like them. people are calling me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATHY COHEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2006
Very good. I made for a big family party and they were a big hit. Very easy. I doubled with no problems. I used salted butter which gave a nice flavor, since the recipe called for no salt, although I would usually use unsalted for cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitforaqueenclothing.com

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
I've been searching so long for this perfect recipe, and finally I've found it here. These are sometimes called Russian Tea Cakes or Swedish Tea Cakes. I followed the recipe but added 1 tsp. almond extract and these cookies came out moist, delicious, and so good that I must make more! I used my pampered chef scooper to make the balls, but I made them a bit too big so I had to cook them a bit longer. Next time I'll scale down a bit. These are absolutely WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Gardner

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Middle River, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
Delicious! I thought the amount of walnuts seemed like a lot but they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2003
I would have given more stars if I could! I made 2 batches of these early this morning to sell, and sold them before lunch! THANKS THANKS THANKS!They were so pretty in the little cupcake liners!:-)) A++++++++++++++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
Really great! Remember that if your using unsalted butter, be sure to add a pinch of salt to this recipe (because it doesn't call for any) or I suppose you could just use salted sweet-cream butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Senushi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States