Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
These were easy to make and looked pretty, but I didn't enjoy the flavor much. Not sure why, but they almost had a bitter or salty aftertaste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
These were so yummy! Very light and buttery. I made them for a cinco de mayo party in my Spanish class and everybody loved them. I used only 1 cup of walnuts and ground them. Also, I made them smaller, and got almost 80 cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2Bake
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
i did like several reviewers suggested and double the vanilla. in one batch i used macadamia and another peanuts. they were both loved. but id stick with macadamia next time for sure. half way through the mexican themed bridal shower they were all completely gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kash

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
Just made these little buttery balls of perfection!! I would recommend adding just a tad bit more vanilla. I choose not to put the nuts in and they taste just as good! My husband can't keep his hands off of them! The batter yielding about 45 balls. No more than a quarter's width and no more than 1 inch high. They came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganK89

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
A very simple, very good light Mexican Wedding Cake. I served these at a Mexican themed bridal shower, so they were a perfect dessert. I used black walnut extract because we were out of vanilla, but I strongly encourage you to use Mexican vanilla because it tastes a little different and isn't expensive. The only issue that I had was that these were very crumbly and they didn't all make it through the rolling in powdered sugar process. I will toast the walnuts next time, too. Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Melt in your mouth. Instead of walnuts I used toasted pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was my first time around trying to make this type of cookie, and I am not disappointed. I made the dough the night before I baked them (kids interrupted me). When I took the dough out of the fridge it was a little too stiff to work with, but 10 minutes on the counter took care of that. I made 2 different sizes (baked on separate sheets), nickel size, and half-dollar size balls. I fit 48 of the small ones on the first sheet, and about 18 larger ones on the second sheet. I baked the small ones for about 8 minutes and the large ones for 11 minutes. Both batches turned out perfect, and they were so easy. Definitely wait until they are totally cooled off before you roll them in the powdered sugar, I got excited and rolled a few too early because I wanted to try them. The powdered sugar gets all gooey if they are still warm. Awesome recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Delish! Substituted pecans for the walnuts. Mmm!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Perfect! These turned out delicious and were very easy to make! I did use 1 full tsp vanilla but only 1 cup of finely chopped walnuts. PERFECT! Will defiantly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States