Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
first time making AND tasting. they were better than I thought they would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This recipe needed some modificaion to make it just right. The vanilla needed to be doubled, the nuts needed to be very finely chopped and cut back to back to 1.5 cups, and 1/4 teaspoon salt added. I also roll the cookies in melted butter before rolling them in powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These are great and super easy. I suggest chopping the walnuts finely. Remember not to put the powdered sugar on until they are cool, because the sugar will melt. Also, they look great in mini cupcake liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
VERY easy to make - and very fast also! These are super tasty! I've used this recipe several times now but this last time I took chocolate chips and put a couple in each ball (rolled the chocolate chips inside/the middle of the cookie before I baked it). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I love mexican wedding cakes!! This recipe was great and simple. I substituted almond extract for almonds since the kids don't like actual nuts in their food and it tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Very easy and tasty! I also omitted the powdered sugar from the mix and used salted butter. Worked very well. I also put the nuts in my food processor to make them very small. Helped with the texture a lot! The trick is not to make the too big and not to handle the mix any more than necessary. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
these are by far my favorite wedding cookie recipe. i tried some of the others on allrecipes and these taste the most like the danish wedding cookies you get at the store in the pink box. the only thing i did different was add a little bit of cinnamon to the confectionary sugar that you roll the cookies in. i also used pecans very finely chopped in stead of walnuts. i weighed all the cookies on a scale so they would bake evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Outstanding. I tried some without the walnuts, give a thumbprint and topped them with a dollop of buttercream-excellent tea cookies! Definitely add salt if you're using unsalted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMHMC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
These cookies are easy to make with ingredients usually on hand. I only had 1 cup of nuts, and they turned out just right- melt in your mouth buttery and just the right texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
These are ultimate five star cookies! I have made them perfectly every time, and they are absolutely hands down Amazing!! I was au pairing for 7 months in Italy, and in December I made these the first time and all of the children Loved them and kept requesting these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States