Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I got some of these cookies from the local bakery over the holidays, and when I went back for more, they said they are only a holiday cookie. I tried this recipe and made no changes. It will not be just a holidy cookie around here, they were perfect and so EASY. My toddler and my teen both loved them and couldn't get them eaten fast enough. I had to hide some for my hubby. 5 EASY STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These are fantastic! I can't believe anyone would think anything but YUM of these! The only changes I made was to use super finely chopped pecans - instead of walnuts - and I took other recipe reviewers advice and rolled them in powdered sugar twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Good basic recipe with modifications: Use one cup nuts, 2 tsp vanilla and 1/4 tsp salt. In addition, use 1/2 cup of p.sugar in cookies and then an additional 1 - 1 1/2 cups for rolling. Refridgerate dough for at least an hour. When they come out, cool for a few minutes, roll in sugar and cool completely...then roll again. If they are not cooled all the way the sugar will melt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Petrillo Montgomery

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
My mother and I used to make these all the time when I was little, but we did one thing differently. We cooled the baked cookies on the cookie sheet for about 5 minutes and then rolled them in the powdered sugar carefully (they are very fragile and will crumble if handled too roughly). Then we let them cool completely on a rack and rolled them in sugar again after they were cooled. More sugar stuck to the cookies that way and they were sweeter than if we had only rolled them in sugar once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I made these for a Cookie Exchange party and I followed the recipe to a tee! Didnt change a thing! only thing maybe is the shape! I was thinking "lady Fingers"...so I shaped some like cresents! The were just the right amount of sweet not too much! Very easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia A Maldonado

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Benito, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Though this cookie is edible, it tastes more like a nutty flour ball rolled in powdered sugar. Pretty disapointed...I think more vanilla and more sugar is called for in order to get a taste going other than the nut and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
THIS IS THE WORST COOKIE RECIPE I HAVE EVER MADE. ALL THE COOKIES TASTED LIKE FLOUR BALLS. I HAD TO THROW THEM ALL AWAY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marquette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
These are simple and delicious! For an added treat, in lieu of the powdered sugar coating, dip in milk chocolate! Rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKALVIG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
This is a all time favorite in my house! Just a little messy to make but well worth the effort. Also I use pecans rather than walnuts, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I like this recipe b/c it was not only quite tasty but it was extremely easy! I used almond extract instead of vanilla and I used and about 1/2 the pecans it called for and the other half were almonds (in which I toasted both before crushing them.) I crushed them to a sandy texture for better flavor. Through trial and error, I discovered that the balls should be about the width of a nickel, no bigger than a quarter, for them to bake for 10 min. I tried larger ones, baked them longer, but I couldn't get them to bake evenly. Be sure that they are completely cool before rolling them in the sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
179 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brady, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States