Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I don't really bake so this was awesome. I forgot about a Mexican fiesta potluck at work & this was the easiest recipe late at night. Easy & Yum! I usually *have* to have chocolate in some way with baked goods. These were perfect. Definitely rolled them twice in sugar. My fiancee was jealous of my work peeps. I had to set aside a batch for us, er, him. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Wonderful. I used almonds and almond extract jut for a change from the usual vanilla. Even my mother in law who is a wondeful baker loved these!!! Also did roll them in sugar twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Super Super Easy recipe, I just had to cook them a little longer than stated. My guest at my Mexican Fiesta ate them up! I plan on making a double batch next time and just freeze the dough so I can always have it on hand, they were that good! Great cookie for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I used to buy these cookies at a local department store bakery. When I got married three years ago, I knew I wanted these cookies. When I went to buy them, the store had gone out of business. With this recipe, I got the cookie I remembered, I was able to make enough for 100 guests the night before my wedding, they are so easy. I now make them when I bake my christmas cookies every year, and they still get the most compliments. Every one loves the "melt in your mouth" texture. I like to drizzle them in a little chocolate after I roll them in powdered sugar, as a finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Sorry. I bake often but these were a mess-- floury, crumbly, and flavorless. Nothing like the Mexican Wedding Cakes I've had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These are one of my favorite cookies! I love this recipe as it is, it is perfect. I will make it a part of my baking every Christmas now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
So yummy. Reminds me of my moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I have made these cookies over the years under various different names. These received the most compliments, though. Out with the other recipes. So easy, too! The other recipes were telling me to roll once in powdered sugar while still warm, then again when cool. It never adhered to the cookie right. These work and much LESS work! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
I got some of these cookies from the local bakery over the holidays, and when I went back for more, they said they are only a holiday cookie. I tried this recipe and made no changes. It will not be just a holidy cookie around here, they were perfect and so EASY. My toddler and my teen both loved them and couldn't get them eaten fast enough. I had to hide some for my hubby. 5 EASY STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
These are fantastic! I can't believe anyone would think anything but YUM of these! The only changes I made was to use super finely chopped pecans - instead of walnuts - and I took other recipe reviewers advice and rolled them in powdered sugar twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States