Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
I love these cookies and they are so easy to make! These are really cookies that taste better after they are completely cooled. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Freedom, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Spryte
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I usually make these every year at Christmas (and whenever my mom requests them, they are her favorite!) But tonight my daughter told me she needed cookie for her Dia de los Muertos celebration in her Spanish class tomorrow. So I decided, these are Mexican, I'll make them... then to make them for Day of the Dead, I made them skull shaped and decorated them with flowery shapes & other confections before baking. Instead of rolling in powdered sugar, I sprinkled them... the sugar covered a lot of the decorations, so I cleared the sugar from just the decorations with a toothpick dipped in water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spryte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This turned out pretty good! However, I think they were a little more dry than other recipes, and next time I'll try adding a little more butter. Also, I changed the shape to a 1/4" thick rectangle and dipped it in chocolate. came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
one of my favorite cookies to make. my coworkers are constantly asking about these. i make these during the holidays and give them out in little tins as gifts. i also roll them into smaller balls about 3/4 of an inch and its bite size. for a little extra indulgence.. i roll them in powdered sugar twice. once about 5 mins after taking them out of the oven, then right when they are completely cool for a little more sweetness. i totally recommend this yummy cookie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I don't really bake so this was awesome. I forgot about a Mexican fiesta potluck at work & this was the easiest recipe late at night. Easy & Yum! I usually *have* to have chocolate in some way with baked goods. These were perfect. Definitely rolled them twice in sugar. My fiancee was jealous of my work peeps. I had to set aside a batch for us, er, him. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Wonderful. I used almonds and almond extract jut for a change from the usual vanilla. Even my mother in law who is a wondeful baker loved these!!! Also did roll them in sugar twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Super Super Easy recipe, I just had to cook them a little longer than stated. My guest at my Mexican Fiesta ate them up! I plan on making a double batch next time and just freeze the dough so I can always have it on hand, they were that good! Great cookie for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I used to buy these cookies at a local department store bakery. When I got married three years ago, I knew I wanted these cookies. When I went to buy them, the store had gone out of business. With this recipe, I got the cookie I remembered, I was able to make enough for 100 guests the night before my wedding, they are so easy. I now make them when I bake my christmas cookies every year, and they still get the most compliments. Every one loves the "melt in your mouth" texture. I like to drizzle them in a little chocolate after I roll them in powdered sugar, as a finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Sorry. I bake often but these were a mess-- floury, crumbly, and flavorless. Nothing like the Mexican Wedding Cakes I've had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These are one of my favorite cookies! I love this recipe as it is, it is perfect. I will make it a part of my baking every Christmas now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States