Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by jsnowder
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is a great recipe, My boyfriend took them to work. He said he had the whole office talking about them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsnowder

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
My mother in law absolutely LOVED it when I shipped her these cookies for a gift! In addition, it was extra easy to make these! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
Delicious! Made a batch of these tonight and they were very good- just the perfect combination of sweet and flaky! They were very easy to make. I only used 1.5 cups of nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Kuang

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
These are delicious and quick and easy to make. I used pecans rather than walnuts. The cookies were moist and yummy, very short. Perfect with coffee or tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by thecookiejar
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Ive been making these cookies for the longest time and always get raves. I reckon, 100g of walnuts is more than sufficient- too much nuts will result in the cookie breaking up more easily. Use lightly salted butter n omit the confectionary sugar in the batter. The mildly salted cookie and confectionary sugar coating is a perfect marriage of flavours! The trick to making these cookies melt in ur mouth is to avoid overbeating it and handling it as little as possible. After beating the butter (make sure it's not too soft, rather, slightly firm) with vanilla, add in the flour n beat till just blended/mixture forms a lump. Very easy and addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thecookiejar

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
My husband said, "It's better than my Grandma's!" And I don't hear that very often. It's now a holiday cookie we make every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
These were very good but a little to dry. I used to make these all the time but lost the recipe. I'll have to keep looking for just the right one. The recipe I had I think used granulated sugar, they were also very buttery but not as dry. This recipe is very good but not exactly what I was searching for as an end result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
These were super easy and absolutely delicious. I did half pecans and half walnuts and the taste was rich but not overly so. It was a cinch to put a bunch of cooled cookies into a big ziploc with powdered sugar and shake to coat -- they held up fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ADRI122

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
Perfect!! Just what I was hoping for :) I used 1C chopped pecans. SO YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
I love this recipe. I have a few changes tho. I use ground pecans and I roll in powdered sugar after five minutes cooling time. Then I roll them in granulated sugar that I had put a whole vanilla bean into, (marinated sugar with bean for two weeks before use, shaking it up every few days) I did notice that those that didn't like these cookies, were disappointed they were not a sweet cookie, and had little other flavor. The vanilla sugar adds more flavor. And these are not supposed to be a sweet cookie. My suggestion for those looking for a sweet cookie to stick to chocolate chip, or a real sugar cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Foxboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Canaan, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States