Mexican Wedding Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I substituted almonds for walnuts , they are great. They will melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
They were "bakery quality" husbie said. They were scrumptious! I will try with pecans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
melts in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
These were good. Sifting the dry ingredients might have helped a bit but I ended up with pretty crumbly dough. still was able to form into balls but not roll out. Good, delicate recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
OMGoodness these are melt in your mouth wonderful! I omitted the cinnamon, did not sound good to me that day and substituted chopped pecans for the almonds because my husband is a huge pecan fan. cooked for about 15 minutes at 350 F. I can not imagine a better or richer cookie. Thank you DeAnn for sharing this recipe. It is going into my collection for perfect cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Very labor intensive for a batch of cookies, but I think it was worth it. I made them for our potluck in spanish class at school....I hope my class likes 'em. I am soooo full from popping them in my mouth as I cleaned up ( :
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
good but keep small... try rolling out and cutting instead of rolling balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
These cookies are fantastic, not bland at all! I'm baking them right now (my husband has already eaten 5 and said they are addictive) I have Martha Stewart's cookie cook book and she has almost the same version of Mexican Wedding cookies in it. To make them more like she does toast the almonds in the oven first at 350 degrees f until slightly golden, it brings out the flavor of the almonds, reduce the flour to 2 cups and 2 tablespoons flour up the confectioners sugar to 1 cup and swap one of the teaspoons of vanilla for almond extract, I just rolled the dough into 1 1/2 inch balls straight from the bowl. These are also a great cookie just the way the recipe is written, don't forget altitude and climate affect your baking while more flour works for some, less might work better for others. Thank you DeAnn for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolce Cuoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These were good, a little to delicate though. They fell apart as you ate them. My family loved them, so I will make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
I make these abit more indulgent by wrapping the dough around a chocolate kiss before baking.Then continuing on as normal and rolling them in the powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gothicfaerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Valley City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States