Mexican Wedding Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Simple and delicious! I've made this many times. One day I had no almonds, so, instead I added 1/4 cup more of confectioners sugar (I also skip putting the dough in the fridge) and they still were great! So easy I can't believe it. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
I absolutely loved this recipe. I made them for my friends and they ate them in few minutes. This is an easy recipe that does not require tones of ingredients. I like this version of the Mexican Wedding cakes because the ground almonds. I don't usually add the cinnamon. It just melts in the mouth. The best way to bake these cookies is at 275 degrees for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
My husband said "These are the best Mexican Wedding Cookies I've ever had". I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 vanilla extract and 1/2 almond extract. I don't know if they stay in a round ball if you refrigerate them but they were pretty with just a domed shape top when I cooked them right after mixing. Did discover they were better when I made them bite size. Cooking time was shorter since I didn't put them in the fridge first. I tried sifting the sugar on them but it didn't stick so I rolled them in powdered sugar once when hot then again when cooler as suggested in a previous review. I was confused by "knead in flour by hand until completely mixed" so I just mixed in flour with a wooden spoon until it was thick enough to put on counter and then kneaded(if thats a word?) the rest of the flour in. Oh, I dusted the counter top with powdered sugar so the dough wouldn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
EXCELLENT! I made them on Christmas Eve and everyone loved them. I made half with confectioners sugar and the other half i mixed the powdered sugar and cinnamon. Thety were both great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mgomez562

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Whittier, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
These cookies are fantastic, not bland at all! I'm baking them right now (my husband has already eaten 5 and said they are addictive) I have Martha Stewart's cookie cook book and she has almost the same version of Mexican Wedding cookies in it. To make them more like she does toast the almonds in the oven first at 350 degrees f until slightly golden, it brings out the flavor of the almonds, reduce the flour to 2 cups and 2 tablespoons flour up the confectioners sugar to 1 cup and swap one of the teaspoons of vanilla for almond extract, I just rolled the dough into 1 1/2 inch balls straight from the bowl. These are also a great cookie just the way the recipe is written, don't forget altitude and climate affect your baking while more flour works for some, less might work better for others. Thank you DeAnn for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dolce Cuoco

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I have never used any other recipe for this cookie, everyone that's every tried these simply loves them. They come out perfect each and every time and I do not change anything about it EVER. Just like the ones my mom used to make when I was a kid. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle the Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
Great simple recipe especially for parties. The only thing I changed was letting the cookies cool completely down on a rack and then sifting confectioner's sugar on top. Will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
:( Taste and smells just like play-dough. I know these are suppose to be slightly bland in taste but these were just awful.... Kid n hubby gave a big frown :( It's got to be all that flour? I had a hard time cooking them all the way thru no matter what size I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
Excellent and easy - I followed the directions as listed, kept the cookies small (about 3/4 to 1 inch) and then sifted the powdered sugar over the warm cookies for a perfect presentation. One tip - I always line my cookie trays with parchment paper. Took these to a Cinco de Mayo party and they were a hit with kids and adults alike! I made the chocolate variation on this site, as well - both are keepers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States