Mexican Wedding Cakes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2001
fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
Simple and delicious! I've made this many times. One day I had no almonds, so, instead I added 1/4 cup more of confectioners sugar (I also skip putting the dough in the fridge) and they still were great! So easy I can't believe it. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2004
Excellent and easy - I followed the directions as listed, kept the cookies small (about 3/4 to 1 inch) and then sifted the powdered sugar over the warm cookies for a perfect presentation. One tip - I always line my cookie trays with parchment paper. Took these to a Cinco de Mayo party and they were a hit with kids and adults alike! I made the chocolate variation on this site, as well - both are keepers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2004
I absolutely loved this recipe. I made them for my friends and they ate them in few minutes. This is an easy recipe that does not require tones of ingredients. I like this version of the Mexican Wedding cakes because the ground almonds. I don't usually add the cinnamon. It just melts in the mouth. The best way to bake these cookies is at 275 degrees for 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cannes, Provence-Alpes-Côte D'azur, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2004
My husband said "These are the best Mexican Wedding Cookies I've ever had". I doubled the recipe and used 1/2 vanilla extract and 1/2 almond extract. I don't know if they stay in a round ball if you refrigerate them but they were pretty with just a domed shape top when I cooked them right after mixing. Did discover they were better when I made them bite size. Cooking time was shorter since I didn't put them in the fridge first. I tried sifting the sugar on them but it didn't stick so I rolled them in powdered sugar once when hot then again when cooler as suggested in a previous review. I was confused by "knead in flour by hand until completely mixed" so I just mixed in flour with a wooden spoon until it was thick enough to put on counter and then kneaded(if thats a word?) the rest of the flour in. Oh, I dusted the counter top with powdered sugar so the dough wouldn't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
:( Taste and smells just like play-dough. I know these are suppose to be slightly bland in taste but these were just awful.... Kid n hubby gave a big frown :( It's got to be all that flour? I had a hard time cooking them all the way thru no matter what size I made them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
I have never used any other recipe for this cookie, everyone that's every tried these simply loves them. They come out perfect each and every time and I do not change anything about it EVER. Just like the ones my mom used to make when I was a kid. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelle the Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
brought them to a party and everyone loved them. very easy to make too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These were so good! I originally made them as a cinco de mayo treat, but they were so good I had to make them again! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I thought this was a so-so recipes. I would use this again BUT eliminate the cinnamon. LP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States