Mexican Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2003
I use a variation of this recipe and it is fabulous! I add all the listed ingredients together including the coconut and nuts, minus the milk. Bake for 40 minutes until carmelized/browning on top. Cool. Mix 2 cups powdered sugar with one 8oz package of cream cheese and frost. It's a huge family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2000
I really enjoyed making this cake. It stays in the pan it was cooked in and the toping just pours over the cake, no icing process needed. Everyone loved it and asked for it to be made again for the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
Oh my goodness, this cake is to die for! I only put 1 cup of sugar in the cake and used regular milk in the sauce, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. My whole family loved this cake. Beware, it's addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PureGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOXY1619
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I searched for years before finding this recipe. This is my second time making it and the only change I've had to make is to increase the baking time by 15 minutes. Other than that this recipe is dead on. I don't normally have time to allow the cake to cool totally before pouring the sauce on but I don't think it really matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
excellent flavor, very moist, quick and simple recipe. even my husband, a pineapple and coconut hater, LOVED this cake. i will come back to this recipe whenever i need a "tropical" type of dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
This was delicious, but very rich. I cut the sugar in the cake down by one cup and it was perfectly sweet. Don't make the mistake of undercooking the cake at all, as I did, or you will end up with a cake soup in the center. If you like moist cakes, such as Tres Leches, you will love this. Overall, it is excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I was bored by the idea of beating the frosting and just poured it straight from the pan. I also only used one cup of sugar for the batter - and it turned out pretty much spectacular. It wasn't as soft as I expected - really moist, but still firm enough to not to fall into wet crumbs. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
This cake is DELICIOUS! I would compare it's texture to that of bread pudding because of its moistness. It should be served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
Not at all what I was expecting. The cake was drenched in the milk sauce and was more like bread pudding - but extraordinarily sweet. I will not make again....sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 16, 2005
Oh my, what a winner! This is simple and really good, the best combination for a recipe! Excellent choice for novice bakers. I used walnuts and put them in the cake batter, along with some coconut. I added even more coconut to the sauce (you can't really call it frosting), as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuart, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bassett, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States